cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virgin Media & O2 User cannot enter exact same address on both accounts for Volt benefits

cyclingcylon
Tuning in

I was a professional I.T Test Analyst before retiring and worked on many conversion and migration projects where two companies merged their customer databases, sometimes called Customer Relationship Management and tested many a website for defects. Companies such as VM and O2 use what are called 'Address Look Up files' so when you type in your Post Code, a list of address that relate to that are presented to you to select your home address from a list. There are numerous sources for these files but commonly they originate from the Post Office. However, it seem VM is using one version of the Address Look Up file while O2 uses another. There are differences between the two. Ive seen it posted that difference in address between the two companies is due to representative entering the details when cold calling. Nope, that isnt the case. It's down to the 2 companies data.

To get your O2 Volt benefits there are a number of conditions. Amongst these, so I have managed to learn is, that your name and address held by O2 and VM have to be the same. But is that exactly the same or just similar? For example, an account holder may be Mr John Smith on O2 and MR JOHN SMITH on VM. Does that qualify both names on O2 and VM to be the same for Volt? It might or might not depending on how the system developers wrote the code and conversion validation! Perhaps a mod here could clarify whether this, as well as abreviating a forename on one account, will have an impact?

On the O2 website if you want to edit your address (for Volt benefits!) you enter your house number and post code. This will return a list to select you exact address but the format will be:

Line 1: 12, Acasia Ave,

Line 2: Anytown,

Line 3: Anyshire,

Line 4: PZ9 2ZP