cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Latency issues with online Jamming (solocontutti)

jonw3
Joining in

Can anyone advise me on what to do with high latency.  I am a keen musician and I have been trying to use Solocontutti for online jamming and I consistently get poor latency which results in poor sound quality and a delay.  Trying sonobus was no better.  I am currently on a M250 fibre package and get ping times of more than 20ms which is higher than recommended.  Any ideas on how I can improve the latency?  I have reset the Hub 3 router but that made no difference.

13 REPLIES 13

legacy1
Alessandro Volta

Nothing you can do if running the hub in modem mode don't help thats it VM would have to fix the area with more upstream

---------------------------------------------------------------

Cardiffman282
Knows their stuff

See https://www.virginmedia.com/blog/gaming/how-to-reduce-lag 

I'm not a Very Insightful Person (just a little bit, sometimes). I don't work for Virgin Media (but then nor do any of the offshore customer service agents).

IPFreely
Fibre optic

Depending where in the country you are and where the people you're trying to play with are 20ms may be impossible and your service may be working perfectly fine.

Latency on VM cable is a bit higher than that of other providers due to how their network is built. 

Without knowing what you're pinging from and to impossible to give any advice. You're at the mercy of your own Internet and, potentially, the connections of the folks playing with you. 

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

What devices are you running the music software on?

And, have you tried connecting those devices to the VM Hub on an ethernet cable as well as wifi ?

How do they compare?