Menu
JuliaBlack
Joining in
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Next Door messages on my TV

Can anyone explain why I was getting messages on my Virgin TV from my neighbour asking me to ‘allow device’.I phoned Virgin and they told me they would arrange to remove this problem. I would love to understand what is going on! 

0 Kudos
japitts
Problem sorter
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Next Door messages on my TV

Is your neighbour using a Bluetooth or WiFi device and intentionally/unintentionally (delete as appropriate) trying to connect to your TV set? Or if you've got a V6 with WiFi, I don't know if this could be an avenue in?

Either way, I'd love to know what CS are going to do about your neighbour's devices!!

JuliaBlack
Joining in
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Thanks japitts . I am a novice in this world of telecommunication and am sorry to say I have no idea what V6 with WiFi is. I have a WiFi box sitting under\beside the TV. I have no idea whether my neighbours are intentionally or unintentionally wishing to connect to my TV set and would rather not ask them for fear of causing unpleasantness and wanting to keep a respectful distance.

With regard to the phone conversation I had with Virgin, they would say no more than ‘the problem has been solved’ and that no more messages would would pop up on my TV screen. 

0 Kudos
praxis
Well-informed
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

@japitts wrote:

Is your neighbour using a Bluetooth or WiFi device and intentionally/unintentionally (delete as appropriate) trying to connect to your TV set? Or if you've got a V6 with WiFi, I don't know if this could be an avenue in?

Either way, I'd love to know what CS are going to do about your neighbour's devices!!

Surely if they were attempting to connect via Wi-Fi they would need the OP,s password and as Bluetooth has limited range not sure that would work either ?

0 Kudos
japitts
Problem sorter
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator