Menu
Reply
  • 2.47K
  • 47
  • 330
deans6571
Problem sorter
920 Views
Message 511 of 518
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings


@Roger_Gooner wrote:

My V6 info, software version 20.9.1.RC2-VMB-11-C68.

20190527_122408_20.jpg

 


.....my V6 shows 20.8.1.RC11-VMB-11-C68. 

__________________________________________________________
Husband, Dad, Gamer, Gadget Lover......
Twitter: @deans6571
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 177
  • 0
  • 33
Gmjh
Superfast
919 Views
Message 512 of 518
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings

People are saying the exact opposite. The tv can't upscale to 2160p on 1080p content because the V6 shows all 1080p at 2160p.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 309
  • 5
  • 61
crypticc
Fibre optic
868 Views
Message 513 of 518
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings


@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

Confirmed.  There's now no way to get UHD unless 2160p is the only option you pick.  Which then means you won't get 1080.

 

What the hell are you doing Virgin?


.....but if you pick 1080 in the Settings, doesn’t that mean your TV will then scale up to 2160, instead of the V6 (which would probably mean a better picture anyway)?


But then you don't get UHD

----------------------------------------------------------
2011 TiVo scaling bug

TiVo upscaling output



2017 Tivo-scaling bug

Virgin-TV-V6 Video-Output-Settings

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.47K
  • 47
  • 330
deans6571
Problem sorter
845 Views
Message 514 of 518
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings


@crypticc wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

Confirmed.  There's now no way to get UHD unless 2160p is the only option you pick.  Which then means you won't get 1080.

 

What the hell are you doing Virgin?


.....but if you pick 1080 in the Settings, doesn’t that mean your TV will then scale up to 2160, instead of the V6 (which would probably mean a better picture anyway)?


But then you don't get UHD


...my understanding was (feel free to correct me if I am wrong) that if you select 1080 in the settings, the V6 will give you the 1080 picture and your TV will scale everything which is higher i.e. 2160 / UHD, no?

__________________________________________________________
Husband, Dad, Gamer, Gadget Lover......
Twitter: @deans6571
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 947
  • 23
  • 140
shawty1984
Rising star
826 Views
Message 515 of 518
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings


@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

Confirmed.  There's now no way to get UHD unless 2160p is the only option you pick.  Which then means you won't get 1080.

 

What the hell are you doing Virgin?


.....but if you pick 1080 in the Settings, doesn’t that mean your TV will then scale up to 2160, instead of the V6 (which would probably mean a better picture anyway)?


But then you don't get UHD


...my understanding was (feel free to correct me if I am wrong) that if you select 1080 in the settings, the V6 will give you the 1080 picture and your TV will scale everything which is higher i.e. 2160 / UHD, no?


Why would you want to scale a native 4k image from 1080? 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.47K
  • 47
  • 330
deans6571
Problem sorter
818 Views
Message 516 of 518
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings


@shawty1984 wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

Confirmed.  There's now no way to get UHD unless 2160p is the only option you pick.  Which then means you won't get 1080.

 

What the hell are you doing Virgin?


.....but if you pick 1080 in the Settings, doesn’t that mean your TV will then scale up to 2160, instead of the V6 (which would probably mean a better picture anyway)?


But then you don't get UHD


...my understanding was (feel free to correct me if I am wrong) that if you select 1080 in the settings, the V6 will give you the 1080 picture and your TV will scale everything which is higher i.e. 2160 / UHD, no?


Why would you want to scale a native 4k image from 1080? 


.....I wouldn't, I was merely just asking the question of what would happen if you just select the 1080 option in the V6 settings??!

Stop jumping down my throat everytime I comment on this thread.....

__________________________________________________________
Husband, Dad, Gamer, Gadget Lover......
Twitter: @deans6571
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 177
  • 0
  • 33
Gmjh
Superfast
811 Views
Message 517 of 518
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings


@shawty1984 wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

Confirmed.  There's now no way to get UHD unless 2160p is the only option you pick.  Which then means you won't get 1080.

 

What the hell are you doing Virgin?


.....but if you pick 1080 in the Settings, doesn’t that mean your TV will then scale up to 2160, instead of the V6 (which would probably mean a better picture anyway)?


But then you don't get UHD


...my understanding was (feel free to correct me if I am wrong) that if you select 1080 in the settings, the V6 will give you the 1080 picture and your TV will scale everything which is higher i.e. 2160 / UHD, no?


Why would you want to scale a native 4k image from 1080? 


I don't know why a lot of these recent comments are being made. The whole thread, for years, has been saying the V6 does not give a 1080p picture to allow the superior  TV scaling to 2160p. Its like the years of comments just don't exist and the thread was started three days ago. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 947
  • 23
  • 140
shawty1984
Rising star
770 Views
Message 518 of 518
Flag for a moderator

Re: Video Output Settings


@deans6571 wrote:

@shawty1984 wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@crypticc wrote:

Confirmed.  There's now no way to get UHD unless 2160p is the only option you pick.  Which then means you won't get 1080.

 

What the hell are you doing Virgin?


.....but if you pick 1080 in the Settings, doesn’t that mean your TV will then scale up to 2160, instead of the V6 (which would probably mean a better picture anyway)?


But then you don't get UHD


...my understanding was (feel free to correct me if I am wrong) that if you select 1080 in the settings, the V6 will give you the 1080 picture and your TV will scale everything which is higher i.e. 2160 / UHD, no?


Why would you want to scale a native 4k image from 1080? 


.....I wouldn't, I was merely just asking the question of what would happen if you just select the 1080 option in the V6 settings??!

Stop jumping down my throat everytime I comment on this thread.....


I wasn't jumping down your throat, I was asking a simple question. You quoted someone who said "But then you don't get UHD" to which your reply was "the V6 will give you the 1080 picture and your TV will scale everything which is higher i.e. 2160 / UHD, no?" I was simply asking why you'd want a 4k image to be downscaled to 1080p then for it to be upscaled to 4k.