Menu
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
GASteele2001
Joining in
357 Views
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

1080p on standard HD TV

I have for over a year had a Sony Bravia 40 inch TV and when I received my V6 box when upgrading from the TiVo box, the V6 chose 1080p as the output. The box earlier this year packed up and an engineer brought a replacement box. This is also set to 1080p.

As nothing in the UK is broadcast in 1080p why does the TV choose this option? Should I keep the setting on 1080p?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 578
  • 56
  • 164
GarethF
Rising star
353 Views
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p on standard HD TV

Netflix, iPlayer all 1080p. Think the Sky Cinema VoD is too

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 15.3K
  • 1.59K
  • 3.38K
Superuser
Superuser
350 Views
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p on standard HD TV

Simply put V6 will upscale the broadcast 1080i to 1080p, your TV’s highest format.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
GASteele2001
Joining in
316 Views
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p on standard HD TV

So do I put the box on to 1080p, 1080p pass through or keep the setting on 1080i with one of the 1080p options?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.35K
  • 243
  • 402
LittleMick73
Problem sorter
306 Views
Message 5 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p on standard HD TV

Hi I have the same set up as you, I have simply set the V6 on keep automatic settings, it shows up on my Sony and V6 as 1080p., I get perfect quality images in SD & HD .Regards Micky
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.27K
  • 39
  • 304
deans6571
Problem sorter
287 Views
Message 6 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p on standard HD TV


@GASteele2001 wrote:

I have for over a year had a Sony Bravia 40 inch TV and when I received my V6 box when upgrading from the TiVo box, the V6 chose 1080p as the output. The box earlier this year packed up and an engineer brought a replacement box. This is also set to 1080p.

As nothing in the UK is broadcast in 1080p why does the TV choose this option? Should I keep the setting on 1080p?


...in all honesty - on a 40" screen, you won't notice any difference in picture quality no matter what your settings are set to. You would need at least a 55" to 60" and above to notice anything.

__________________________________________________________
Husband, Dad, Gamer, Gadget Lover......
Twitter: @deans6571
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
dj999
Joining in
224 Views
Message 7 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p on standard HD TV

i've got a panasonic 32" and had to change from v+ to v6 last week, the v+ was set to 1080i and with the new settings, picture quality was better on old box
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.59K
  • 173
  • 417
Roger_Gooner
Trouble shooter
207 Views
Message 8 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p on standard HD TV

HD broadcasts are 1080i, so a setting of 1080i will effectively pass through to your TV for conversion to 1080p50. If you also have a setting of 1080p then other stuff with varying resolutions from YouTube will be scaled to 1080p50 by the V6.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 866
  • 21
  • 118
shawty1984
Rising star
191 Views
Message 9 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p on standard HD TV


@deans6571 wrote:

@GASteele2001 wrote:

I have for over a year had a Sony Bravia 40 inch TV and when I received my V6 box when upgrading from the TiVo box, the V6 chose 1080p as the output. The box earlier this year packed up and an engineer brought a replacement box. This is also set to 1080p.

As nothing in the UK is broadcast in 1080p why does the TV choose this option? Should I keep the setting on 1080p?


...in all honesty - on a 40" screen, you won't notice any difference in picture quality no matter what your settings are set to. You would need at least a 55" to 60" and above to notice anything.


That just simply isn't true. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.27K
  • 39
  • 304
deans6571
Problem sorter
184 Views
Message 10 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p on standard HD TV


k@shawty1984 wrote:

@deans6571 wrote:

@GASteele2001 wrote:

I have for over a year had a Sony Bravia 40 inch TV and when I received my V6 box when upgrading from the TiVo box, the V6 chose 1080p as the output. The box earlier this year packed up and an engineer brought a replacement box. This is also set to 1080p.

As nothing in the UK is broadcast in 1080p why does the TV choose this option? Should I keep the setting on 1080p?


...in all honesty - on a 40" screen, you won't notice any difference in picture quality no matter what your settings are set to. You would need at least a 55" to 60" and above to notice anything.


That just simply isn't true. 


....here we go again. 🙄

Of course it’s true - the differences between 1080i vs 1080p on a screen that small are negligible. You need a half decent sized TV AND to be sitting the correct distance away to notice the differences. How about actually doing some research before posting a comment like that...

__________________________________________________________
Husband, Dad, Gamer, Gadget Lover......
Twitter: @deans6571
0 Kudos
Reply