cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TV360 box keeps losing connection to the hub

Badblood
Tuning in

Hi everybody,

I have a newly installed VM Broadband setup. TV is fine, Hub 3 works nicely and I am using Powerline adapters to distribute both wired and WiFi connections around the house.

Seemingly rock solid 320Mb/s download speeds with uploads of >30 Mb/s.

TV works fine but anything on the 360 box that requires internet (catch up, recordings, guide) is very hit and miss. Constantly getting error messages that the service is unavailable.

Guide is often empty. Home produces an empty menu. Then it will be fine.

Often time using the remote will not work and then suddenly the box will spring to life and run through 5 or six items.

Box is connected to the hub by wired ethernet and I substituted the supplied RJ45 wire for a known good one of my own (I work in IT).

When it works it is great but often doesn't. Diagnostics often tell me that the hub is not connected to the Internet (which is wrong) or that the box has a slow connection. If I come out and go back in to Diagnostics, it is fine. Is this software related or the h/w in the box itself?

.TV Go app works on the phone but if I want to watch on the TV it tells me the Virgin TV box is off (which it isn't).

I can get most of the services via my TV directly but for those channels only on the TV box I am missing out.

In theory the kit is awesome but in practice, sigh... Anyone got any ideas?

7 REPLIES 7

awmaines
Dialled in

I’ve had similar problems with TP-Link power line adapters.  One thing you could check is are the adapters configured to go into power saving mode, if so try turning this off.

Thanks for the reply. I would be surprised if it were the powerline adapters. The TV box is wired directly to the Hub but I will check it out.

newapollo
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

Hi @Badblood