cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Patterning last night

g0akc
Problem sorter

We noticed severe patterning or ghosting - bands moving across the picture - on ITV, and probably other channels, last night - during 'Vera' for example.

We didn't see it after I switched to a Freesat (satellite) feed, on a different HDMI input.

I was used to seeing this far more with analogue signals in the past of course. Digital should behave much differently.....

There was very high pressure and chance of interference from the continent last night.  I didn't try much terrestrial (Freeview) coverage.  We're in the East of England.

Did anyone else notice this?

Do Virgin take an off air feed (from an antenna)?  I assumed it was a wholesale fibre connection.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know a bit about Wi-Fi, Telecoms, and TV as I used to do it for a living but I'm not perfect so don't beat me up... If you make things you make mistakes!
3 REPLIES 3

g0akc
Problem sorter

Interestingly the recording made at the same time doesn't seem to be affected - so I can only guess this was RF getting into the TV via the terrestrial antenna at the time (but satellite input was not affected) so a bit odd.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know a bit about Wi-Fi, Telecoms, and TV as I used to do it for a living but I'm not perfect so don't beat me up... If you make things you make mistakes!

Hi g0akc, 

Thanks for taking the time to post about your issues in the Community.