cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sound and video quality on Tivo box

MikeNewman78
Joining in

As you do not have a category for the Tivo box, I have put my question here.

Why is the sound level so badly controlled.  Using the Tivo box, I find the sound levels vary dramatically between channels.  For example, if I have a comfortable sound level on BBC 1, why is it so low when I switch to BBC 2.  The variation on all channels is totally unacceptable.  The lowest level being in GBNews - channel 626.  On a number of channels, the coding appears to be all screwed up producing a blocky picture of varying colours.

Do not try to tell that I am doing something wrong.  I worked in the industry for most of my life and it stinks of Virgin Media just not being interested in providing a decent service.

5 REPLIES 5

newapollo
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

@MikeNewman78 wrote:

On a number of channels, the coding appears to be all screwed up producing a blocky picture of varying colours.

Do not try to tell that I am doing something wrong.  I worked in the industry for most of my life and it stinks of Virgin Media just not being interested in providing a decent service.

Have you tried reseating the HDMI cable, or trying a different HDMI cable/port?

Have you tried rebooting the TIVO? If so does this clear up the picture issue?

Which channels are affected by the blocky picture of varying colours?

Please be specific as in the channel names and if they are in SD or HD as this may help determine if it's due to either a signal fault or a box issue. 

Dave
I don't work for Virgin Media.
I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge.
Problem solved? Click to mark as a Helpful Answer, or use Kudos to say thanks
The do's and don'ts.
Keep the community welcoming for all. Please read the FAQ's
The Service you do for others is the rent you pay for your room here on Earth - Muhammad Ali