Menu
Reply
Elonex1958
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
529 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3

Hello, I have an on going problem with my hub 3 router. I lose WiFi several times a day, and when it happens the green WiFi symbol flashes. I have tried contacting virgin by calling 150 but I'm not prepared to wait an hour for customer service.

This morning I tweeted Virgin media and their suggestions were to try the diagnostic I have tried this several times but  never shows a problem. So they suggested I try this forum

0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16K
  • 1.26K
  • 3.77K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
514 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

do you have any wired connections if so do they drop - if you have no wired connections does the power light change colour when the wifi drops

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labelled - upstream - downstream

if its an earlier hub button is top right

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
Elonex1958
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
500 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

Hi, I have bridges that are connected to the router if that's what you mean and yes they lose connections to it. 

0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16K
  • 1.26K
  • 3.77K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
492 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labelled - upstream - downstream

if its an earlier hub button is top right

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
Elonex1958
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
489 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

Here is the data requested

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940007337512064 qam2
22580000536.3512064 qam4
33260000036.5512064 qam3
44619999937.8512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0030
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0020
4ATDMA0040
0 Kudos
Reply
Elonex1958
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
488 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 203000000 10 38 256 qam 9
2 211000000 9.8 38 256 qam 10
3 219000000 9.5 38 256 qam 11
4 227000000 9 38 256 qam 12
5 235000000 8.6 38 256 qam 13
6 243000000 8.4 38 256 qam 14
7 251000000 8.5 38 256 qam 15
8 259000000 8.6 38 256 qam 16
9 267000000 8.8 38 256 qam 17
10 275000000 8.6 38 256 qam 18
11 283000000 8.5 38 256 qam 19
12 291000000 8.5 38 256 qam 20
13 299000000 8.9 38 256 qam 21
14 307000000 8.5 38 256 qam 22
15 315000000 8.4 38 256 qam 23
16 323000000 8 38 256 qam 24
17 331000000 8 38 256 qam 25
18 371000000 7.5 38 256 qam 26
19 379000000 7 38 256 qam 27
20 387000000 6.9 38 256 qam 28
21 395000000 6.5 38 256 qam 29
22 403000000 6.6 38 256 qam 30
23 411000000 6.5 38 256 qam 31
24 419000000 6.5 38 256 qam 32


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.9 11933 7090
2 Locked 38.6 11226 6601
3 Locked 38.6 5479 7204
4 Locked 38.6 6228 7779
5 Locked 38.6 5948 6703
6 Locked 38.6 9799 7597
7 Locked 38.6 8420 6618
8 Locked 38.6 6482 6173
9 Locked 38.9 3268 7521
10 Locked 38.9 2596 7838
11 Locked 38.9 2483 7816
12 Locked 38.9 1389 8225
13 Locked 38.6 2007 6523
14 Locked 38.9 1684 6447
15 Locked 38.6 2407 6596
16 Locked 38.6 3599 8605
17 Locked 38.9 1902 7907
18 Locked 38.6 2273 8200
19 Locked 38.6 4779 1437
20 Locked 38.6 4968 17670
21 Locked 38.9 1082 1964
22 Locked 38.9 908 1917
23 Locked 38.9 1185 1355
24 Locked 38.9 1020 8553

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.59K
  • 2.19K
  • 3.63K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
465 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

Your Down power levels are on the high side - albeit within range. A few worrying T3's on the Up channel. We need to see the Network Logs as as well - but lets start from a blank sheet...

Switch the Hub off and unplug it for a few minutes and then start up. When done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts have all reset to 0. Then check every hour or two for the next day or so to see if they start reappearing - they shouldn't. If they do (particularly the postRS ones) you have a problem (noise) that only a Tech visit will sort.

Also, in the meantime... if you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Elonex1958
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
285 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub 3

Hello, I still have the problem with WiFi disconnecting. I have noticed that when the WiFi disconnects the green WiFi symbol is steady for a few seconds then it flashes intermittently but the white light at the base of the router is steady white. I thought that the ethernet connected devices lost WiFi as well but they don't.

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12030000009.938256 qam9
22110000009.838256 qam10
32190000009.338256 qam11
42270000008.938256 qam12
52350000008.538256 qam13
62430000008.338256 qam14
72510000008.138256 qam15
82590000008.538256 qam16
92670000008.438256 qam17
102750000008.338256 qam18
11283000000838256 qam19
122910000008.338256 qam20
132990000008.438256 qam21
143070000008.338256 qam22
15315000000838256 qam23
163230000007.638256 qam24
173310000007.838256 qam25
183710000007.338256 qam26
193790000006.938256 qam27
203870000006.638256 qam28
213950000006.638256 qam29
224030000006.538256 qam30
234110000006.538256 qam31
244190000006.438256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.63051
2Locked38.63850
3Locked38.62170
4Locked38.64631
5Locked38.94401
6Locked38.675055
7Locked38.961111
8Locked38.63501
9Locked38.62130
10Locked38.91620
11Locked38.91590
12Locked38.91970
13Locked38.92260
14Locked38.91460
15Locked38.61630
16Locked38.62340
17Locked38.93821
18Locked38.91250
19Locked38.659169
20Locked38.9322115
21Locked38.91210
22Locked38.9940
23Locked38.9930
24Locked38.6840
 
 
0 Kudos
Reply
Elonex1958
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
283 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
13940010236.8512064 qam2
24620000037.8512064 qam1
32579998136512032 qam4
43259993136.3512064 qam3


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0020
2ATDMA0020
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0010



0 Kudos
Reply
Elonex1958
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
279 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

Elonex1958_0-1612270968836.png

Don't know if this helps

0 Kudos
Reply