Menu
jbrennand
Legend
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

How common are browsers causing speed drop issues?

I was helping a fellow Mac man with their speed issues yesterday (link below) - potted summary is that his iMac was only getting 50-70mbps on an ethernet cable connection to the Hub3.  When he turned off Chrome and used Safari his speed instantly jumped up to 380mbps.  Got me wondering how common this issue might be in the windows/linux community - of which I have little experience other than one old W10 lappy I keep on top of the wardrobe for emergency use only.  Does Chrome have something inherent about it that could cause this? Could it have been "infected" with summat? Any other "browser specific" speed issues been unearthed in the past?

Thoughts?

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Etherent-speed-slow/m-p/3912102#M202773

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
MrHalfAsleep
Knows their stuff
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: How common are browsers causing speed drop issues?

Chrome chews through memory like nobody's business even on Win10.  On the XP machine there was a memory leak that chewed through most of the 2GB forcing it to run very slowly.  I've noticed similar things happening in Edge whilst on speed testing websites.  During testing, it'll start off incredibly slowly, then speed up to over 1GB causing the results to be skewed.  I'm on Vivid 100Mb, but the screencap (max numbers) below puts me on 350Mb and nearly 100Mb upload.

Pinging local servers (around Manchester) provides a better result.

testmy.jpg

--
The only winning move is not to play.
No system is 100% secure
Ridicule is nothing to be scared of - Adam Ant
The only thing constant - is change. Chris Evans
The internet is a series of tubes