Menu
Dave_cq
Community elder
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

First Time VPN User Having Issues

I have never used a VPN before but I took the plunge today and signed up with NordVPN.  I have installed and tried 2 UK servers on the Asus router's VPNClient page.  Both are working but I have at least 2 issues ... maybe more to come.

1.)  My usual 108 mbps has dropped to around 20 mbps.  I was expecting some slow down but that is ridiculous!  Is that usual?

2.) I can no longer access my Superhub SH2AC, which is in modem mode, using 192.168.100.1   Is this usual and is there a workaround other than turning off the VPN each time I need access?

********* SuperHub 2ac - Asus rt-ac68u Router - Vivid 100Mbps **********

Electron
0 Kudos
Highlighted
chenks
Problem sorter
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: First Time VPN User Having Issues

1) you'll need to take that up with Nordvpn. What are your reasons for using a VPN in the first place?

2) will be normal as the modem is no longer in the same network as the rest of your devices. You shouldn't have any need to access the hub whilst in modem mode anyway.

0 Kudos
Dave_cq
Community elder
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

@chenks wrote:

1) you'll need to take that up with Nordvpn. What are your reasons for using a VPN in the first place?

No particular reason for needing a VPN, just wanted to try it out of idle curiosity really   Smiley Tongue

2) will be normal as the modem is no longer in the same network as the rest of your devices. You shouldn't have any need to access the hub whilst in modem mode anyway.

Ah, ok that makes sense, I think.  I like to keep a daily watch on my hub to monitor power levels, timeouts etc.

Electron
0 Kudos
chenks
Problem sorter
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

sounds like you've got too much time on your hands Smiley Very Happy

0 Kudos
Dave_cq
Community elder
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

@chenks wrote: