cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cut a vigin cable accidentally

Eddielancasrer
Tuning in

Hi wondered if anyone could help,  I work as a fencing contractor and have over 20 year experience but however it's the first time I have had to deal with virgin regards a  cut cable . Yesterday I was on a job and a fence hole was needed to be dug in the front of a customers garden . Soon into the dig it became apparent I had cut through a brown coloured virgin cable which was about 100mm deep . I notified the customer and asked her check her services was still available but unfortunately wasn't.  I want to keep the inconvenience to a minimum to my customer so I contacted virgin straight away but the customer service team said they wouldn't speak to me as I wasn't the account  holder .I then had to ask my customer to make the call instead and they arranged for a engineer to come out the followling day . I today heard back from my customer that the cable was fix but virgin have charged her £100 . I have tried to call virgin a number of times today to question this charge and even was hung up on when I asked them to please hold while I got my customers address details .

My gripe is that this cable was not correctly installed as it was not in it normal protective green conduit and not clearly visible in the ground , in my opinion it was a accident waiting to happen,  I was trying to do the right thing with minimal fuss for my customer but now is going to cost me £100 for someones elses incompitance. Any thoughts much appreciated 

Eddie 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Anonymous
Not applicable

I can find several threads, going back a few years, that state there was no charge for cut/damaged cable repair.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Graham_A
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

As I understand it accidental damage to VM equipment outside the property should not result in a chargeable repair.