Menu
Reply
  • 308
  • 5
  • 60
crypticc
Fibre optic
879 Views
Message 81 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: TV Go device registration

This Sky Sport/Cinema app on Windows is really frustrating and it seems impossible to get Virgin device management pages and Sky logins to know what the other is doing.  

I've tried rebooting, uninstalling, reinstalling, using different browsers to login.  I've tried everything and nothing works.

 

 

This started last month when I  got a new laptop/   I deleted one of my two devices but Sky said I have only one device registered but also I have no device switches remaining.  SO when I try to register a new laptop it says I've used up all my switches.  This is incorrect  as I hadn't made any switches for at least 6 months.

 

In Feb I called Virgin.  The agent deletes all my devices and then frees up one switch.  I register that new device (but my original laptop is now "Dead").

 

This month I go to use that original laptop (I returned the new one) and again Sky says that I've used up all my device switches.

I call Virgin again and this time the agent again deletes all my devices.  But the agent doesn't reset the number of switches, she says she doesn't know how to do that.

 

(so now I have no devices registered and now no switches remaining, so I cannot even my spare laptop which was the other of the original devices registered or the new laptop.)

 

This agent says "sorry" and more or less nothing she can do but someone will call me on Tuesday so "bye".  She refers to a known issue on error code  OVP_00200.  But isn't that for normal tele not Virgin anywhere or Sky Go?

I say hang on this is unacceptable and I've logged a complaint but I don't understand how difficult can it be to sync up having no allocated devices and being able to register two devices into those allocations?  Delete, reset counter, job done.  But apparently impossible to achieve.

 

Does anyone know how to actually fix this bug?

Thanks

Chris

 

----------------------------------------------------------
2011 TiVo scaling bug

TiVo upscaling output



2017 Tivo-scaling bug

Virgin-TV-V6 Video-Output-Settings

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 67
  • 8
  • 13
DazzerG
Dialled in
854 Views
Message 82 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: TV Go device registration issue not yet fixed

This is the latest advice posted on Twitter:

virginmedia 20190331.png

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 308
  • 5
  • 60
crypticc
Fibre optic
840 Views
Message 83 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: TV Go device registration issue not yet fixed

No image?

Thanks

 


@DazzerG wrote:

This is the latest advice posted on Twitter:

virginmedia 20190331.png


 

 

----------------------------------------------------------
2011 TiVo scaling bug

TiVo upscaling output



2017 Tivo-scaling bug

Virgin-TV-V6 Video-Output-Settings

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 77
  • 7
  • 3
Forum Team
Forum Team
821 Views
Message 84 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: TV Go device registration

Hi, crypticc,

 

Thank you for posting and welcome to the Virgin Media Community forum.

 

Sorry to hear you're having issues with your TV Go not registering devices.

 

We'll need to reset your devices and if you're available to talk with our team, we can do this via online chat. Please click on the link to get in touch with one of our web chat representatives.

 

Let me know how you get on.

 

Thanks.

 

Mia_C

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
Tvobs
Tuning in
788 Views
Message 85 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: TV Go device registration

I am having the same problem.

My ipad Pro was stolen and has now been replaced. When I logged on it automatically registered my new device. i haven't made any other changes in 2 years.

On my TV account it states I can register up to 6 devices?

Both active accounts relate to ipads only. An ipad & (new) ipad pro.

When I get to the sky sports it advises maximum users reached?

I only get the problem with Sky Sports & Sky Cinema

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 32
  • 4
  • 4
Forum Team
Forum Team
762 Views
Message 86 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: TV Go device registration

Thanks for the post, Tvobs.

Sorry to hear about the issues you're having with your TV Go not registering devices.

We can help out in removing both existing devices and just register both as new, we can do this via online chat.

 

Geraldine_C

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 308
  • 5
  • 60
crypticc
Fibre optic
743 Views
Message 87 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: TV Go device registration

 

After raising a complaint mine is working now.

Interesting the it now gives me 6 devices. It used to only show me 3 slots (and 1 change per month and  never in sync with the number of changes)

Did they change from 3 slots to 6 at some point and miss transferring my account?

 

Cheers

 


@Mia_C wrote:

Hi, crypticc,

 

Thank you for posting and welcome to the Virgin Media Community forum.

 

Sorry to hear you're having issues with your TV Go not registering devices.

 

We'll need to reset your devices and if you're available to talk with our team, we can do this via online chat. Please click on the link to get in touch with one of our web chat representatives.

 

Let me know how you get on.

 

Thanks.

 

Mia_C

 

 

 


 

----------------------------------------------------------
2011 TiVo scaling bug

TiVo upscaling output



2017 Tivo-scaling bug

Virgin-TV-V6 Video-Output-Settings

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Gravyboat
Joining in
555 Views
Message 88 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: TV Go device registration

Hi

Has this been resolved yet?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 308
  • 5
  • 60
crypticc
Fibre optic
524 Views
Message 89 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: TV Go device registration

 

 

 

Hi

You need to raise a ticket on phone I think - we should all now have :

4 virgin devices and 1 replacement per month

6 sky devices and 3 replacements per month

https://www.sky.com/help/articles/sky-cinema-and-sky-sports-with-virgin-media

 

Customers in the United Kingdom

You can stream on one device at any one time; register up to six devices per household; and make three device swaps per calendar month.

Every time you use a different device it will automatically register until you reach the six device limit. When you want to watch on a seventh device, you'll need to remove one of your existing devices.

To manage your devices, visit Virgin Media UK’s device registration page.

 

https://www.virginmedia.com/help/device-management-for-sky-cinema-and-sky-sports

 

If you subscribe to Sky Cinema or Sky Sports channels on Virgin TV you can watch the channels via the Sky Cinema and Sky Sports apps on mobiles and tablets or the Sky Cinema and Sky Sports website on a Windows PC or Mac.

You can register up to 6 devices for each Virgin Media Account to watch TV, which can be any combination of computer, laptop, tablet or mobile devices as long as they meet the technical requirements for the Sky service. You can also make up to 3 device changes per month.

A device will be automatically registered for access the first time you watch TV on that mobile device.

...BUT...

 

Changing registered devices
Once two devices have been registered, you can change one existing registered device once per calendar month.

 

This statement is incorrect.  It's for ROI users (if you read the Sky website)

 

 

 


@Gravyboat wrote:

Hi

Has this been resolved yet?

Thanks


 

----------------------------------------------------------
2011 TiVo scaling bug

TiVo upscaling output



2017 Tivo-scaling bug

Virgin-TV-V6 Video-Output-Settings

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 19.66K
  • 2.01K
  • 3.74K
Superuser
Superuser
519 Views
Message 90 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: TV Go device registration


@crypticc wrote:

Hi

You need to raise a ticket on phone I think - we should all now have :

4 virgin devices and 1 replacement per month

6 sky devices and 3 replacements per month


Only Full House customers get 4 device changes for TV Go. Everyone else is still two devices.

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
0 Kudos
Reply