Menu
Reply
  • 18
  • 1
  • 1
AlanMac2
On our wavelength
498 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

slow speed

Hello VM community,

                                 Firstly I'm on the vivid 200 packages, with a broadband connection speed of 200mb. My problem is I have a wifi speed of approx 180mb and a wired broadband speed of approx 110mb - tested using speedtest.net. I have gigabit rated rj45 socket on the PC motherboard and the data transmission light is orange for 1000mb speed the data transmission light on the rj45 socket of the Superhub is blinking green - indicating 1000mb. I have cut and pasted my downstream, upstream and network logs below. My cable is a brand new cat5e, connected directly from PC to Router.

 

Many Thanks for any help offered

 

Alan Mac

 

 

Downstream

 

DS-1

DS-2

DS-3

DS-4

DS-5

DS-6

DS-7

DS-8

Frequency (Hz)

266750000

274750000

282750000

290750000

298750000

306750000

314750000

322750000

Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Channel ID

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

Modulation

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

Interleave Depth

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

Power Level (dBmV)

7.91

8.26

7.88

8.29

7.93

8.11

7.70

7.84

RxMER (dB)

37.64

37.94

37.94

37.94

38.26

38.26

38.26

38.26

Pre RS Errors

32252

17750

4970

2398

344

1040

449

494

Post RS Errors

307

284

276

961

280

970

303

314

 

Upstream

 

US-1

US-2

US-3

US-4

Channel Type

2.0

2.0

2.0

2.0

Channel ID

6

8

7

5

Frequency (Hz)

53700000

39400000

46200000

60300000

Ranging Status

Success

Success

Success

Success

Modulation

64QAM

64QAM

64QAM

64QAM

Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)

5120000

5120000

5120000

5120000

Mini-Slot Size

2

2

2

2

Power Level (dBmV)

44.00

43.75

44.00

44.00

T1 Timeouts

0

0

0

0

T2 Timeouts

0

0

0

0

T3 Timeouts

1

0

0

0

T4 Timeouts

0

0

0

0

 

 

Network Log

Network Log

First Time

Last Time

Priority

Error Number

Description

02/04/2019 08:34:35 GMT

02/04/2019 08:34:35 GMT

Warning (5)

66050310

Auth Success - Web login successful.

02/04/2019 04:59:55 GMT

02/04/2019 04:59:55 GMT

Error (4)

68010400

DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response

02/04/2019 04:59:16 GMT

02/04/2019 04:59:16 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

02/04/2019 04:58:39 GMT

02/04/2019 04:58:39 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

02/04/2019 04:57:25 GMT

02/04/2019 04:57:25 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

02/04/2019 04:54:56 GMT

02/04/2019 04:54:56 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

02/04/2019 04:50:01 GMT

02/04/2019 04:50:01 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

02/04/2019 04:40:11 GMT

02/04/2019 04:40:11 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

02/04/2019 04:20:31 GMT

02/04/2019 04:20:31 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

02/04/2019 03:41:11 GMT

02/04/2019 03:41:11 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

02/04/2019 02:22:31 GMT

02/04/2019 02:22:31 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

01/04/2019 23:45:11 GMT

01/04/2019 23:45:11 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

01/04/2019 18:30:29 GMT

01/04/2019 18:30:29 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

01/04/2019 08:01:05 GMT

01/04/2019 08:01:05 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

29/03/2019 03:05:41 GMT

29/03/2019 03:05:41 GMT

Error (4)

68010400

DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response

29/03/2019 03:04:46 GMT

29/03/2019 03:04:46 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

29/03/2019 03:03:54 GMT

29/03/2019 03:03:54 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

29/03/2019 03:02:08 GMT

29/03/2019 03:02:08 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

29/03/2019 02:58:37 GMT

29/03/2019 02:58:37 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

29/03/2019 02:51:35 GMT

29/03/2019 02:51:35 GMT

Error (4)

68010100

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

  
      

 

© 2010 Virgin Media. All rights 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7.97K
  • 823
  • 1.24K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
476 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: slow speed

Someone else should comment on the network log errors.
But to test the speeds you are getting can you test it this way. Your PC has a gigabit network card but check it has the up to date drivers. Use a new Cat5e/6a ethernet cable (you have!) to connect it to the Hub - which you have put into modem mode (to ensure only your device is connected). Then, boot up your device into "safe mode with networking" (to disable any software on it that could be limiting speeds - lots of examples on here of things that do) and run the test at speedtest.net on 2 different browsers one of which is a fresh download of one you haven’t previously used (e.g. Firefox, Opera, etc. - as several users have noted problems with certain browsers)
Post back what that gets you.

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 18
  • 1
  • 1
AlanMac2
On our wavelength
458 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow speed

Hi Jbrennand,

                   Thanks for your input. I have tried some of your suggestions but no luck yet.

1        I have tried booting win 10 into safe mode with internet and the same result approx 120mb download speed

2        Updated my network adaptor to latest drivers still about 110 mb download speed 

3       tried a fresh install f Opera - still the same result

4       tried different network cables  still the same result

The only thing left is to reboot the router into modem mode and try that but the missus is watching the V6 box which is on wifi so have to wait till later 

 

I'll report back later 

 

Many thanks

 

Alan Mac

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 106
  • 1
  • 3
Forum Team
Forum Team
411 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow speed

Hi, AlanMac2.

 

Thanks for reaching out to the community about your internet issue.

Sorry to hear you're experiencing slow speeds.

 

We appreciate the time you took sorting this using the instructions provided on the previous response.

Have you already tried rebooting your router?

Let us know if this issue is still ongoing and we'll look further into it.

 

Speak Soon,

Chai_S

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 18
  • 1
  • 1
AlanMac2
On our wavelength
399 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow speed

Hi Chai_S,
Thanks for taking a look at my slow speed issue. Been on the phone to tech support this morning and carried out all the stuff I've already done including a full reboot of the router, basically, I've exhausted all the troubleshooting tasks at tech support and I'm still not getting my full speed (or near as possible) the best I've had today is 126mbps but wifi is still the same at 172mbps (tested using my Samsung S9+ on the 5g wifi of the router. Checked the status of the network card in Win 10 pro (latest Oct 18 update) and it says 1Gb, no problems detected, using latest drivers. I have tried 2 different cat5e cables - still the same, also used Edge, chrome and opera browsers to test - still the same, tried using Win 10 in safe mode-still the same. Tried other broadband speed test sites as well but all reporting about 100mbps so I'm at a loss at the mo, going to wait for No1 son to come home and he can test using his laptop to see what he gets. If anyone has any other thoughts then please share

Many Thanks for looking

Alan Mac
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7.97K
  • 823
  • 1.24K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
395 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow speed

A little pedantic perhaps - but you haven't said that you ran the "safe mode test" with the Hub also in "modem mode" - did you do it that way?
That's to disable any other devices from connecting simultaneously by wifi and possibly affecting the result

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 76
  • 1
  • 7
Forum Team
Forum Team
386 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow speed

 Hi, AlanMac2.


Thanks for getting back to us in our community.


I certainly understand what you feel about this issue. I also use my service for a lot of things like communicating, entertainment and other important stuff, so I can understand the feelings when my service aren't working properly as expected. We appreciate all things you've done to have this issue sorted. You can give us an update after you'll check it with your son or we can help further by looking into your account and identify the main issues there maybe and we can do this via online chat.


Please keep us posted for any further updates.


^Shay_S

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 18
  • 1
  • 1
AlanMac2
On our wavelength
363 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow speed

Hi JBrennand,

                     Ok, I tried modem mode on my superhub2 and unfortunately, there was no difference in my download speed from Speedtest.net. I guess I might buy a PCI network card from somewhere and try that, but many thanks for yours and everyone else's  input :-) 

 

Alan Mac

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 51
  • 4
  • 9
Forum Team
Forum Team
343 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow speed

Hi AlanMac2,

 

Thanks for letting us know.

@ jbrennand thank you for taking time to respond to this query.

 

I appreciate all the troubleshooting steps you've done specially running it on safe mode and modem mode. I'm sorry to hear that you're still getting the same speeds. We need to access your account to run more diagnostics. We can do this via online chat. Just click on the pop up link to get started on this and our media team will be glad to assist you.

Let us know how it goes.

 

Thanks,

 

Raine_G

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 18
  • 1
  • 1
AlanMac2
On our wavelength
315 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: slow speed

Hi VM Community,
Well I purchased a realtek PCIe network card, at first it it was 144 ish Mbps and then back down to 110 ish, so I bit the bullet and put win 10 into recovery mode and after win 10 had done it's thing I'm now back up to 213Mb download speed. So obviously I must have installed something that was throttling my bandwidth, so very many thanks for all the help I have received.

Alan Mac2
0 Kudos
Reply