Menu
Reply
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Zeptha
Joining in
565 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

losing packets can't stay connect for more than 5 mins

getting sick of not able to stay connect for more that 5 mins 3 days this has been going on and phoned up twice can't even go into any online games or even watch youtube even using discord is a joke but it's okay because it says i'm connect to my internet clearly not so what's up with the internet this time another engineer cutting more wires? i mean i've phoned support twice and nothing all they say is restart router i dont need to phone up for them to tell me something a 5 years old could have come up with.... it's ridicules 

i'm on VIVID 100 Optical Fibre

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.6K
  • 883
  • 1.34K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
536 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: losing packets can't stay connect for more than 5 mins

Is it just wifi connected devices that are having the problem or do ones on ethernet cable also drop?
Also, Set up a free BQM - to continually to monitor the state of your connection and any dropouts, 24/7 and it keeps a visual record of the disconnection data.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Zeptha
Joining in
533 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: losing packets can't stay connect for more than 5 mins

it's both WiFi and Ethernet and i have been monitoring my packets drop via discord's RTC connection and it is has not been stable for the passed 3 days but i will use the monitoring you linked

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.6K
  • 883
  • 1.34K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
521 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: losing packets can't stay connect for more than 5 mins

OK try this. Check all your coax connections are in nice and "finger" tight at the Hub and wall box and at any splitters/attenuators/etc and that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing (rabbit chews!). Also check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

If that’s all good.... post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there. In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before] click on the “router status” icon at top right or the text at bottom middle on first page up (depending on which hub you have) and then copy/paste 3 full sets of data onto here - the downstream, upstream, & network logs. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & don’t include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out.

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Marsh26
Joining in
521 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: losing packets can't stay connect for more than 5 mins

Having the same problem over the past week.

Over the weekend it was struggling to even maintain connection and dropped every few minutes. I thought maybe it would self resolve, but hardly anything has changed. Connection no longer drops, but my speed is extremely slow (I pay for 100mbps, but I'm getting 2-5). It's been tedious to even make an account on here, feels like dial-up. The website test says it's all fine, but this extremely slow speed has been going on for a while now. My setup has not changed, I feel something might be wrong with the service itself. The speed makes broadband practically unusable. Online gaming is impossible like this.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Zeptha
Joining in
505 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: losing packets can't stay connect for more than 5 mins

here are the three things you asked for

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 291000000 2.7 36 256 qam 20
2 139000000 5.5 37 256 qam 1
3 147000000 5.5 37 256 qam 2
4 155000000 5.3 37 256 qam 3
5 163000000 4.6 37 256 qam 4
6 171000000 4.6 37 256 qam 5
7 179000000 4.1 36 256 qam 6
8 187000000 4.1 36 256 qam 7
9 195000000 3.7 36 256 qam 8
10 203000000 3.4 36 256 qam 9
11 211000000 3.7 36 256 qam 10
12 219000000 3.2 36 256 qam 11
13 227000000 3.5 36 256 qam 12
14 235000000 3.4 36 256 qam 13
15 243000000 3 36 256 qam 14
16 251000000 3.4 36 256 qam 15
17 259000000 2.7 36 256 qam 16
18 267000000 3 36 256 qam 17
19 275000000 2.4 36 256 qam 18
20 283000000 2.5 35 256 qam 19
21 299000000 2.2 35 256 qam 21
22 307000000 3 36 256 qam 22
23 315000000 3.2 36 256 qam 23
24 323000000 3.4 36 256 qam 24


Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 36.3 884 581
2 Locked 37.3 63581 8131
3 Locked 37.3 13028 1154
4 Locked 37.6 6920 1114
5 Locked 37.3 6403 884
6 Locked 37.6 5412 880
7 Locked 36.6 5028 853
8 Locked 36.6 4786 896
9 Locked 36.3 6174 762
10 Locked 36.6 5314 799
11 Locked 36.3 4014 709
12 Locked 36.3 3709 910
13 Locked 36.3 3694 855
14 Locked 36.6 2944 839
15 Locked 36.3 2055 667
16 Locked 36.6 1503 759
17 Locked 36.3 1207 608
18 Locked 36.3 1073 513
19 Locked 36.3 1033 671
20 Locked 35.7 970 586
21 Locked 35.7 931 598
22 Locked 36.6 705 681
23 Locked 36.3 622 675
24 Locked 36.3 542
617

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 25799979 4.175 5120 64 qam 4
2 32600039 4.5 5120 64 qam 3
3 39400019 4.5 5120 64 qam 2
4 46199998 4.35 5120 64 qam

03/04/2019 09:46:18 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
03/04/2019 09:46:22 critical Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-
03/04/2019 09:46:22 critical Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-
03/04/2019 09:48:22 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
03/04/2019 09:49:18 critical Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-
03/04/2019 09:49:18 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
03/04/2019 10:19:28 critical Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-
03/04/2019 10:19:28 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
03/04/2019 11:39:55 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-
03/04/2019 12:05:22 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
03/04/2019 12:38:41 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-
03/04/2019 12:38:42 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
03/04/2019 12:39:15 critical Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing 
03/04/2019 12:39:15 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
03/04/2019 12:39:30 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-
03/04/2019 12:42:54 critical Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing 
03/04/2019 12:42:54 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
03/04/2019 12:44:14 critical Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing 
03/04/2019 12:44:14 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
03/04/2019 15:55:57 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Zeptha
Joining in
504 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: losing packets can't stay connect for more than 5 mins


@Marsh26 wrote:

Having the same problem over the past week.

Over the weekend it was struggling to even maintain connection and dropped every few minutes. I thought maybe it would self resolve, but hardly anything has changed. Connection no longer drops, but my speed is extremely slow (I pay for 100mbps, but I'm getting 2-5). It's been tedious to even make an account on here, feels like dial-up. The website test says it's all fine, but this extremely slow speed has been going on for a while now. My setup has not changed, I feel something might be wrong with the service itself. The speed makes broadband practically unusable. Online gaming is impossible like this.


i know the feeling mate can't play a game of league without my char walking off and me trying to turn back and nothing

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Zeptha
Joining in
476 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: losing packets can't stay connect for more than 5 mins

i mean not even a day and look at them packets how am i meant to use the internet when it wont stay up

54878548a5b576a7feefb67bdfa1dd7420a748ca-03-04-2019.png 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Zeptha
Joining in
451 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: losing packets can't stay connect for more than 5 mins

So update on the 4th the internet stayed up all day without a problem and now it's the 5th and had started losing packets again lovely stuff it was fun playing online games for one day

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.74K
  • 138
  • 386
jpeg1
Trouble shooter
421 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: losing packets can't stay connect for more than 5 mins

Zeptha that BQM shows there are severe problems on your connection.

Call in the fault to 150 and insist on an engineer visit. 

0 Kudos
Reply