Menu
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
ba1ley123
Tuning in
511 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

download speed since upgrade from vivid 100 to vivid 200 slow

i have recently had a speed boost which is complete i should get estimated speed of 213 mbps i get about 71 at the most i have been on the phone to customer services a few times over the space of a few days the first time i was asked to do a few things like reboot modem then they sent some signals down the line then told me to reset modem with  a pin in the reset hole did that made no difference he then said i had a power fault on the line to the modem then he booked a engineer for the next day they never showed up so next day i rang customer services they done some more tests then asked me to to check the speed my nic was showing it was 1.0 gbps so then he ran a few tests then sent some signals down the line still no speed increase he then made me reboot pc into safe mode re ran speed test was getting around 57 mbps he then said that my pc was showing a 200 mbps connection to modem and not 1.0gbps like my pc nic was showing so he came to conclusion that the ethernet cable i was using was not working correctly i told him i was using cat 6 cable suplied with my modem he sugessted i changed it then rang back i have changed it still no were near the right speed im getting can anybody help please thanks in advance 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.08K
  • 482
  • 1.32K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
497 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: download speed since upgrade from vivid 100 to vivid 200 slow

If you go to http://192.168.0.1/ (or http://192.168.100.1/ if you are in modem mode) to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login (unless you have a Hub 3 and this is your first visit to the hub GUI, which does require you to login) but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screenshots if that is easier. If you go with screenshots, be careful to edit out or obscure any reference to your WAN IP or MAC address in the log to protect your privacy.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread (can take a few days) and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out.
My setup: V6 TV box, Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
ba1ley123
Tuning in
483 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: download speed since upgrade from vivid 100 to vivid 200 slow

Refresh data
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 299000000 7.9 38 256 qam 21
2 139000000 10.3 38 256 qam 1
3 147000000 9.5 38 256 qam 2
4 155000000 6.5 38 256 qam 3
5 163000000 7.6 38 256 qam 4
6 171000000 10.4 38 256 qam 5
7 179000000 11.6 40 256 qam 6
8 187000000 11.9 40 256 qam 7
9 195000000 10.9 38 256 qam 8
10 203000000 9.3 38 256 qam 9
11 211000000 8 38 256 qam 10
12 219000000 6.8 38 256 qam 11
13 227000000 7.9 38 256 qam 12
14 235000000 9.1 38 256 qam 13
15 243000000 8.9 40 256 qam 14
16 251000000 8.5 40 256 qam 15
17 259000000 8.5 38 256 qam 16
18 267000000 5.9 38 256 qam 17
19 275000000 6 38 256 qam 18
20 283000000 6.6 38 256 qam 19
21 291000000 7.4 40 256 qam 20
22 307000000 7 38 256 qam 22
23 315000000 5.1 38 256 qam 23
24 323000000 5.5 38 256 qam 24


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.9 31 0
2 Locked 38.9 118 458
3 Locked 38.9 69 33
4 Locked 38.6 166 587
5 Locked 38.9 155 0
6 Locked 38.9 46 0
7 Locked 40.3 14 0
8 Locked 40.3 12 0
9 Locked 38.9 8 0
10 Locked 38.9 23 0
11 Locked 38.9 20 0
12 Locked 38.9 66 0
13 Locked 38.6 92 0
14 Locked 38.9 41 11
15 Locked 40.3 27 0
16 Locked 40.3 14 0
17 Locked 38.6 27 0
18 Locked 38.9 39 0
19 Locked 38.9 42 0
20 Locked 38.6 43 0
21 Locked 40.3 47 0
22 Locked 38.6 57 0
23 Locked 38.9 52 21
24 Locked 38.6 95 0

 

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 25800004 3.375 5120 64 qam 9
2 32600000 3.45 5120 64 qam 8
3 39400000 3.55 5120 64 qam 7
4 46200000 3.6 5120 64 qam 6


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

 

Network Log
Time Priority Description
22/06/2019 07:19:49 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 07:20:43 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 07:20:44 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 15:22:28 notice Unit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:35 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:29 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:29 Warning! MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 15:42:11 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 16:18:14 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 16:18:24 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 16:18:24 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 16:18:28 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 16:18:28 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 16:18:28 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 16:18:31 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 16:19:18 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 16:19:56 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 16:19:56 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 16:27:46 notice Unit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 20:30:49 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.78K
  • 99
  • 329
Adduxi
Super solver
471 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: download speed since upgrade from vivid 100 to vivid 200 slow

Your Downstream power levels are too high on some channels, should be between -6 to +10 There is noise on some channels are well, as the Post RS figures show.  You will need an engineer visit to correct this.

  • 4.08K
  • 482
  • 1.32K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
465 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: download speed since upgrade from vivid 100 to vivid 200 slow

@ba1ley123 In addition to the issues pointed out by @Adduxi the errors in the log are not healthy so this definitely needs a technician to visit and fix.

You can try calling VM again and ask them to book a visit, but as they have failed to diagnose the issue previously you might be better waiting for the forum team to get to this thread and they can help you book a visit.  This may take a day or two.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out.
My setup: V6 TV box, Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

 

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
ba1ley123
Tuning in
454 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: download speed since upgrade from vivid 100 to vivid 200 slow

thanks for your help guys ill try ring them and book a engineer again thanks

  • 1.07K
  • 49
  • 99
Moderator
Moderator
412 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: download speed since upgrade from vivid 100 to vivid 200 slow

Hi ba1ley123,

Thanks for your first post and welcome to our forums page.

Very sorry to hear you have had issues with your broadband service.

Have you been able to speak to the team and arrange an engineer? If you haven't, and you are still having trouble with your service, please let us know and we will be more than happy to help.

Thanks

Lindsey_C

  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
ba1ley123
Tuning in
398 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: download speed since upgrade from vivid 100 to vivid 200 slow

hi lindsey thanks for your reply its been a long and painful process over the weekend trying to get this problem solved so hard and painful to get help im having a second think weather to stay with virgin i told them over the weekend to cancel the service if they was not willing to help any way lol eventually they said the problem was my ethernet cable so next day i bought a cable tried that still low speed so back on the phone more tests said it was my lan card in pc so i said id replace it and get back to them i now have 3x1gigabit lan cards in my pc tried all 3 im now going from around 60 mbps to around 90 mbps so obviously im now using the lan card i get the most speed with during some of the testing with virgin over the weekend we have found the slow speed is only with ethernet as a speed test on my partners galaxy s6 edge i get 217 mbps 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.36K
  • 73
  • 97
Forum Team
Forum Team
363 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: download speed since upgrade from vivid 100 to vivid 200 slow

Thanks ba1ley123, 

 

I've popped you over a private message so I can get a few more details from you and take a closer look. (little purple envelope in the top right hand corner)

 

Get back to me when you can 🙂

 

Alex_Rm