Menu
Reply
  • 24
  • 0
  • 6
arthurhanlon
On our wavelength
925 Views
Message 1 of 45
Flag for a moderator

Yet another poor speed problem

So, in an attempt to get some level of help to my issues from what seems to be a friendly community I have taken to posting here.

Long story short, I am NOT getting the speeds that I am paying for (200mb) and the quality of my connection has degraded to the point that EVERYTHING I stream will buffer for at least 10-15 second before playing.

The main reason that I am with Virgin is for the internet. It's proved stable and reliable for the many years that I've been a customer but recently this is not the case and for the past 6-9 months I've been having regular slow downs, buffering and lag. I work from home via VPN which routinely drops connection. I have contacted support a number of times which is in itself a hugely frustrating experience of which Virgin Media should be thoroughly embarrassed about, I've spoken to so called "managers" who are extremely arrogant and completely unwilling to listen or even understand my frustrations as one of their customers and have taken to directly tweeting Grafana graphs of ongoing speed tests that I have been regularly running just to prove that there is some kind of issue to which the reply was, contact tech support...REALLY?!

What I am seeing now is speed tests regularly in the region of 30 - 80mbps with the odd 200 - 215mbps thrown in. Feedback from my latest support call was that there was nothing wrong with the equipment and that a manager would call back within 24 hours...this was a week ago and to be frank, I really don't want to talk to a manager as I am not confident I'll get any assistance.

I firmly believe that there is something wrong with the hub's internal switch but continue to get the same old "reboot the modem...reset the modem".

I now have a thinkbroadband monitor running on the connection and was wondering if anyone lend a hand in helping me determine if there is some kind of fault by looking at diagnostic information from the hub itself as, and as much as it feels blasphemous to suggest it, I am now actively looking for other suppliers for when my VM contract expires.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12590000000.540256 qam16
2419000000-1.540256 qam30
3411000000-140256 qam29
4403000000-1.240256 qam28
5395000000-0.738256 qam27
6387000000-0.540256 qam26
7379000000-0.740256 qam25
83230000000.440256 qam24
93150000000.440256 qam23
103070000000.540256 qam22
112990000000.940256 qam21
122910000000.940256 qam20
132830000000.740256 qam19
142750000000.540256 qam18
152670000000.540256 qam17
162510000000.740256 qam15
172430000000.740256 qam14
18235000000140256 qam13
19227000000137256 qam12
20219000000138256 qam11
212110000000.940256 qam10
22203000000140256 qam9
23195000000140256 qam8
241870000001.240256 qam7



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.31035829
2Locked40.3251797
3Locked40.9773911
4Locked40.3112665
5Locked38.91012065
6Locked40.9128173707
7Locked40.3874025
8Locked40.925162
9Locked40.913330
10Locked40.9437918
11Locked40.33058144
12Locked40.94294349
13Locked40.94144567
14Locked40.33649736
15Locked40.31244617
16Locked40.989714
17Locked40.9673920
18Locked40.321254155
19Locked37.611162192171448388
20Locked38.911346010988937
21Locked40.3596698
22Locked40.38684141
23Locked40.913246348
24Locked40.316419105426

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

12580000046.3512064 qam76
23260000046.5512064 qam75
34620000047.3512064 qam73
43940000047512064 qam74

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0030
3ATDMA0030
4ATDMA0040

 

Cheers

  • 3.63K
  • 304
  • 1.06K
Dave_cq
Community elder
917 Views
Message 2 of 45
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another poor speed problem

Power levels and Signal-to-noise levels are all within specification but you really shouldn't be getting any Post RS errors which are insanely high on channels 19, 20 & 24 so something nasty is going on.  You'll need an engineer visit to look into that ... 150 from a VM phone or 0345 454 1111 from any other phone, although as you've not had much luck so far with the call centre you might want to wait (maybe days) for a member of the official Forum Team to pick up this thread.

Just an observation but you say you are using a VPN and that can impose a significant hit on speeds.  I've seen comments that suggest VM are not too keen on VPN use but that could just be a red herring.

 

 

********* SuperHub 2ac - Asus rt-ac68u Router - Vivid 100Mbps **********

Electron
  • 24
  • 0
  • 6
arthurhanlon
On our wavelength
909 Views
Message 3 of 45
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another poor speed problem

Wow, thanks for coming back so quickly, I appreciate the feedback.

With regards the VPN, I know it'll give a speed hit but I'm not fussed about speeds through it, it's more the unreliability of the connection and the regular speed drops. I'm not connected in the evening and weekends and still seeing the same issues.

Bizarre that support would not have spotted this but not at all surprising.

I'll hang off for one of the forum team to pick up on this and see where it goes from there.

Thanks again.

  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
MJWMJW
Tuning in
891 Views
Message 4 of 45
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another poor speed problem

If VPN is dropping it sounds very much like packets are being dropped on the way.  Sounds somewhat like my dirty fibre problem.

You need an engineer.  They have a separate app called the Trinity app, rather than the Red app.  No idea why they don't give that to the call centre.  The latter will show everything fine, while the Trinity one can show problems.  Engineer I spoke to (was really happy and a nice guy) but the undertone was he seemed fed up that the call centre didn't have the right tools.  I don't know if you can demand an engineer?

If you are relatively technical, it may be worth trying to install and run wireshark.. This listens to all traffic coming from your machine and will show you stuff going wrong.

  • 11.49K
  • 1.05K
  • 2.46K
griffin
Alessandro Volta
879 Views
Message 5 of 45
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another poor speed problem

A VPN will slow the connection down a bit due to the extra layer of encryption,as Dave says. There are many other factors that can slow the VPN like the proxy servers, so you need to test without the VPN to test VM's local circuit properly.

As Dave has pointed out it looks like the local circuit has or has had an intermittent SNR problem. Also, the error counters on the Upstream are showing a few T3 errors, posting the Hub's Network logs can put these errors into context.

Posting your BQM would also help.

Personally, I would wait here about a week for a VM Forum Team member to pick up the thread and can take a closer look at the local circuit, much better than offshore support.

  • 24
  • 0
  • 6
arthurhanlon
On our wavelength
871 Views
Message 6 of 45
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another poor speed problem

Thanks again guys.

The VPN is kind of irrelevant as it's only a single machine for the purposes of work, the issue remains on all other devices on the network.

Where would I find the full logs for the hub and also, what's BQM? Is there anything I should focus on redacting from logs prior to posting?

Cheers

  • 11.49K
  • 1.05K
  • 2.46K
griffin
Alessandro Volta
869 Views
Message 7 of 45
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another poor speed problem

The logs are on the same page as the power levels, next tab along. You should redact your IP address.

The Broadband Quality Monitor is your ThinkBroadband graph.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24
  • 0
  • 6
arthurhanlon
On our wavelength
859 Views
Message 8 of 45
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another poor speed problem

Only just activated the BQM but here is a live graph. I can see a couple of dropped packets peeking in but I'm more concerned about the latency.

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media BB

Should I also be concerned that I can only sometimes get a response from http://192.168.100.1? Seems a bit hit and miss whether I can actually get through to the hub on that address and it takes a massive amount of time to actually display the control panel when it does. Sitting at the moment trying to get at the logs and it's simply not responding.

Cheers

 

  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
MJWMJW
Tuning in
855 Views
Message 9 of 45
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another poor speed problem

You mention about 192.168.100.1 - that's the address for modem mode of the virgin hub - have you got your own router or mesh network device after the virgin device?  If yes, it may be worth eliminating that, although it may no account for a slow ping return from thinkbroadband.  If not then you need 192.168.0.1 for the virgin modem in router mode.

Think uses ICMP Pings which will rely on your router/modem to reply..  It's not a great way to test latency, or at least it doesn't help us to identify what the problem is, only to confirm that there is one.  

Either way your average is pretty low, but you've got some quite wild maximums there, google "Internet Speed Test" and the embedded test at the top is a good test to see what you are getting right now, and test more than the last mile.

I'd be interested to see what extra kit you've got after the virgin router - if in modem mode you may have a bottle neck. 

 

 

  • 24
  • 0
  • 6
arthurhanlon
On our wavelength
840 Views
Message 10 of 45
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another poor speed problem

Sorry, just realised that I didn't actually state I had the device in modem mode. The reason for this, the superhub is utter garbage in my experience.

I've got a pfSense box behind it which should be more than capable. I've also wired a machine directly into the SH3 whilst in modem mode and removed everything else from the network with the sames results. The last time speaking with support the SH was in full router mode with Wifi disabled and only 1 device wired in and speedtest was showing around 40mbps.

With regards speed test, I do get full speed on the odd occasion but I also experience a LOT of buffering when watching the likes of YouTube and NowTV etc. which I've never really experienced until the last 6 or so months. I could have a problem streaming one minute, speed test it and it would look fine. I'm running regular speed tests using speedtest-cli and pushing the results to Graphite to view in Grafana and there are clear dips in the download speed sometimes dropping right down to 0.3mbps but on the plus side, upload is as stable as a rock Smiley Happy If I download a fairly decent sized ISO file I can sit and physically watch the speed go up and down during the download.

As I write this, I did have a perfect responsive connection to the superhub web control panel but now can't connect again. The fact that I cannot reliably and stably connect to the local modem IP does make me think there is something going on.

I really do appreciate the feedback i'm getting from this community and hope that one of the forum mods will be able to chime in soon with further suggestions.

Cheers