Menu
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
razikp2
Joining in
379 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Wifi Signal

Hello,

When I joined Virgin I had generally good wifi signal that reached the whole of the house.  While I accept that it won't reach full signal everywhere, it was usable and getting at least 20Mbps at the furthest point (i'm on Vivid 200), the problem has occurred over the last two weeks where the wifi in the bedroom has gone from 50/20 to less than 10 or even zero and dropping connection.

They did fix something in the area a couple of days ago but that didn't improve anything.  I've tried lots of things, several resets, hiding SSIDs, unhiding SSIDs, using Guest to connect, disabling Guest nothing has worked.  What else can I do to improve things?  Do I need a new router?  I don't really like the idea of buying a new one just so I can get my wifi back to where it was, as it was very usable a few weeks ago.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.66K
  • 306
  • 1.07K
Dave_cq
Community elder
366 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Signal

Could be a case of interference from a neighbour's WiFi.  Have you tried manually changing the WiFi channel?

 

 

********* SuperHub 2ac - Asus rt-ac68u Router - Vivid 100Mbps **********

Electron
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
razikp2
Joining in
352 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Signal

Yep tried manually changing using wifi analyser to identify best channel, tried on auto and even 5Ghz band channels has a problem with signal

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.57K
  • 877
  • 1.33K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
344 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Signal

Have you tested the connection on an ethernet cable device connected directly into the Hub - if not - do so and report back.  In the meantime..

Check all your coax connections are in nice and "finger" tight at the Hub and wall box and at any splitters/attenuators/etc and that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing (rabbit chews!). Also check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

If that’s all good.... post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there. In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before] click on the “router status” icon at top right or the text at bottom middle - of first page up (depending on which hub you have) and then copy/paste 3 sets of data onto here - the downstream, upstream, & network logs. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read,& don’t include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out.


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
razikp2
Joining in
310 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Signal

This is based on my PC that is connected via powerline, the wifi affects the mobile devices.

Router status info:

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 147000000 3.4 40 256 qam 2
2 139000000 3 40 256 qam 1
3 155000000 2.5 40 256 qam 3
4 163000000 2.7 40 256 qam 4
5 171000000 2.2 40 256 qam 5
6 179000000 1.5 40 256 qam 6
7 187000000 -1.5 38 256 qam 7
8 195000000 0.5 38 256 qam 8
9 203000000 2.5 40 256 qam 9
10 211000000 3 40 256 qam 10
11 219000000 2 36 256 qam 11
12 227000000 0 37 256 qam 12
13 235000000 0.5 40 256 qam 13
14 243000000 1.7 40 256 qam 14
15 251000000 2.2 40 256 qam 15
16 259000000 2.2 40 256 qam 16
17 267000000 1.7 40 256 qam 17
18 275000000 1.9 40 256 qam 18
19 283000000 1.7 40 256 qam 19
20 291000000 1.5 40 256 qam 20
21 299000000 1.7 40 256 qam 21
22 307000000 1.2 40 256 qam 22
23 315000000 1.7 40 256 qam 23
24 323000000 1.4 40 256 qam 24



Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 40.3 25910 4555
2 Locked 40.9 37219 11345
3 Locked 40.3 21668 4057
4 Locked 40.3 25247 4817
5 Locked 40.3 30836 11223
6 Locked 40.9 31614 6504
7 Locked 38.6 28521 4138
8 Locked 38.9 23126 4291
9 Locked 40.3 19268 4562
10 Locked 40.3 10113 2069
11 Locked 36.6 17475 1533
12 Locked 37.3 76590 2964
13 Locked 40.3 15993 3001
14 Locked 40.9 10995 1769
15 Locked 40.3 10489 775
16 Locked 40.3 8248 64
17 Locked 40.3 8447 259
18 Locked 40.3 7233 862
19 Locked 40.3 6158 188
20 Locked 40.9 2318 38
21 Locked 40.3 800 0
22 Locked 40.3 8972 230
23 Locked 40.9 4861 58
24 Locked 40.3 2976 6


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 39399981 4.75 5120 16 qam 10
2 25799971 4.5 5120 16 qam 12
3 32599974 4.75 5120 16 qam 11
4 46199991 4.75 5120 16 qam 9



Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0


Network Log
Time Priority Description
23/02/2019 21:34:57 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/02/2019 21:43:11 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/02/2019 11:39:31 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/02/2019 16:52:23 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/02/2019 17:24:44 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/02/2019 20:03:55 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/02/2019 23:15:30 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/02/2019 23:15:30 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/02/2019 01:18:34 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/02/2019 13:37:31 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/02/2019 13:37:32 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/02/2019 13:37:32 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/02/2019 13:37:32 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/02/2019 13:37:37 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/02/2019 13:38:29 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/02/2019 14:27:45 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/02/2019 16:49:17 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/02/2019 21:18:45 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/02/2019 03:06:42 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/02/2019 22:59:39 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
razikp2
Joining in
257 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Signal

any help?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.74K
  • 138
  • 386
jpeg1
Trouble shooter
240 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Signal

The signal levels are OK but there's a lot of noise on the incoming signal that shouldn't be there. Check that all the coax connections are screwed tight.

Can you temporarily disconnect the powerline device as a possible source of noise? Move the PC or run a temporary cable direct to the hub.

Having said all that it shouldn't be drastically affecting the WiFi. Is the Hub out in the clear and away from any obstructions? 

0 Kudos
Reply