Menu
Reply
Imagewerx
  • 50
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
743 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

What speed below the maximum is ok?

I have the claimed 200mbps service which gave me a very reliable 220 mbps when I first started using it after it was installed at my new house about three years ago.

For the last six months or so (it might be longer) it's been averaging about 70 mpbs at any time of the day.I think the minimum guaranteed for this is supposed to be about 87 mbps.Is it really reasonable to expect faster from such a service,and is there actually an industry standard that gives a minimum permissible speed as a percentage of what your contract says you should be getting?

0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16K
  • 1.26K
  • 3.77K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
733 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: What speed below the maximum is ok?

how are you testing if wired then its slow but if wifi any speed is possible - so if it is wifi do a wired test and post the speeds

also post some info from the hub

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labeled - upstream - downstream

if its an earlier hub button is top right

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
Imagewerx
  • 50
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
715 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: What speed below the maximum is ok?

Sorry meant to say it's only wired and the figures I use are always from Speedtest.net.

Is this what you want?

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13870000005.538256 qam28
22030000006.537256 qam9
32110000006.437256 qam10
4219000000637256 qam11
5227000000637256 qam12
62350000005.637256 qam13
72430000005.437256 qam14
82510000005.337256 qam15
92590000005.337256 qam16
102670000005.437256 qam17
112750000005.437256 qam18
122830000005.537256 qam19
132910000005.437256 qam20
142990000005.537256 qam21
153070000005.537256 qam22
163150000005.637256 qam23
173230000005.837256 qam24
183630000005.338256 qam25
193710000005.137256 qam26
203790000005.437256 qam27
213950000005.538256 qam29
224030000005.538256 qam30
234110000005.537256 qam31
244190000005.438256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.6740
2Locked37.31030
3Locked37.6730
4Locked37.6790
5Locked37.3850
6Locked37.31000
7Locked37.61190
8Locked37.31280
9Locked37.6770
10Locked37.61040
11Locked37.61200
12Locked37.6880
13Locked37.3800
14Locked37.6980
15Locked37.6830
16Locked37.6980
17Locked37.3850
18Locked38.6890
19Locked37.6730
20Locked37.6810
21Locked38.6810
22Locked38.6650
23Locked37.6760
24Locked38.972

0

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1537000023.95512064 qam2
2394000143.8512064 qam4
3461999883.8512064 qam3
4603000093.95512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.59K
  • 2.19K
  • 3.63K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
698 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: What speed below the maximum is ok?

Stats look ok to me - post up the network logs as well for completeness. Then try this...

First do a quick check that all of your coax connections are in nice and "finger" tight at the Hub and wall box and at any splitters/attenuators/etc with no “unterminated loose ends – disconnect then and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

Then do a Hub “pinhole reset” - with the Hub "switched on" throughout, press pin in firmly and hold for 60 seconds – release pin then leave 10’ to stabilise. Make sure passwords on Hub sticker are still there and legible first!)

Then speedtest again on an ethernet cable (>Cat5e/6) connected to a known GB enabled computer/laptop, that has the up to date drivers - and - with the Hub in modem mode. Test at speedtest.net to your nearest VM server - try 2 different browsers.

If they are still low – boot the device into safe+networking mode and try again.

Report back what that gets.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16K
  • 1.26K
  • 3.77K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
671 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: What speed below the maximum is ok?

after you have done all of the above [or not]  look at you lan cables - 70/80 ish is typical of a poor cable - degraded cable or a bad connection so you are running at 10/100 

doing all the above may solve things but imo the 1st thing to check is the pc is set to gigabit - put the hub into modem mode and test the speed - if its slow change the lan cable - you are unlikely to have 2 bad ones

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
Imagewerx
  • 50
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
650 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: What speed below the maximum is ok?

All cables look good with nothing damaged.Did reset with no difference to speed.Upload is good at 20 mbps,download is still about 80 mbps.No difference on different ethernet cable.
Not sure what you mean by hub in modem mode or booting device into safe and networking mode,do you mean my PC? Network Log

Time Priority Description

14/06/2020 19:53:1Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:53:0Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:52:56criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:52:55Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:52:55criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:52:55Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:49:55criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:48:6criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:47:42Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:47:36criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:46:47criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:44:46Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:44:6Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:44:3criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:44:2Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:44:2criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 19:44:1Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2020 04:51:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2020 04:49:48noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2020 04:49:48ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-
0 Kudos
Reply
Imagewerx
  • 50
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
643 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: What speed below the maximum is ok?


@-tony- wrote:

after you have done all of the above [or not]  look at you lan cables - 70/80 ish is typical of a poor cable - degraded cable or a bad connection so you are running at 10/100 

doing all the above may solve things but imo the 1st thing to check is the pc is set to gigabit - put the hub into modem mode and test the speed - if its slow change the lan cable - you are unlikely to have 2 bad ones


No different with another cable.How do I put the hub into modem mode please?

0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16K
  • 1.26K
  • 3.77K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
632 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: What speed below the maximum is ok?

log into hub 192.168.0.1 and look for setting for modem mode - to get out of modem mode 192.168.100.1 to log in or full reset

____________________

Tony
Imagewerx
  • 50
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
611 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: What speed below the maximum is ok?

For some reason the ethernet contrller was set to a maximum speed of just 100mbps.I have no idea how as I've never altered this etting knowingly.Set to a maximum of 1gbps I'm now up to full speed again.......

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.53K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
535 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: What speed below the maximum is ok?

Whoops - big edit as I'd not read your last post:

Your network log is stuffed full of RCS Partial Service and Synchronisation errors.  That can only be caused by a VM cable or equipment fault causing sufficient noise (usually but not always on the upstream) resulting in the hub losing connection on one or more channels until it can reestablish a proper connection.  Whilst resetting your ethernet controller speed might have unthrottled your connection, those errors will be causing slow down and unreliable connection if they're still occurring at that frequency.

That problem might be a known area fault affecting other customers (the "best" sort of problem, since they're usually fixed without you needing to do anything and without a property visit), and indeed it may already have been fixed.  If not, then it'll require a visit to your property by a VM technician.  If they just replace the hub and head off, then be assured that they won't have found and fixed the fault - I've yet to see those symptoms fixed by a replacement hub, but that's a quick, easy (and ineffectual) effort when staff are not permitted sufficient job time to properly find and fix problems.

I would suggest you don't try and phone this in, if you get the useless offshore bunch (a) they won't understand the problem properly, and (b) after a restart the hub will 99% of the time work OK for a while, so they'll call that a fix and and close the problem.  Instead, hold on here (sometimes can be a day or two) for VM staff to pick this up and advise. 

Hopefully VM staff won't say "looks good from our side" because it patently doesn't - the reported power, modulation and SNR might be within limits, but the network log PROVES that there's a serious technical issue disrupting communication between the CMTS and the hub.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply