Menu
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 2
kirkkaf13
Tuning in
243 Views
Message 11 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 Modem Speed Issue

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12990000004.940256 qam21
21390000006.540256 qam1
31470000006.540256 qam2
41550000007.340256 qam3
51630000005.538256 qam4
61710000005.840256 qam5
71790000006.940256 qam6
81870000006.340256 qam7
91950000005.840256 qam8
102030000005.440256 qam9
112110000005.140256 qam10
122190000005.340256 qam11
13227000000540256 qam12
142350000004.940256 qam13
152430000004.540256 qam14
162510000004.640256 qam15
172590000004.640256 qam16
182670000004.540256 qam17
192750000004.540256 qam18
202830000004.640256 qam19
212910000004.640256 qam20
223070000004.540256 qam22
233150000004.840256 qam23
243230000004.840256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.340
2Locked40.970
3Locked40.950
4Locked40.9170
5Locked38.9600
6Locked40.3220
7Locked40.3130
8Locked40.9140
9Locked40.370
10Locked40.350
11Locked40.360
12Locked40.330
13Locked40.380
14Locked40.980
15Locked40.370
16Locked40.360
17Locked40.360
18Locked40.960
19Locked40.960
20Locked40.950
21Locked40.960
22Locked40.970
23Locked40.370
24Locked40.980

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 2
kirkkaf13
Tuning in
242 Views
Message 12 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 Modem Speed Issue

2019_04_12_22_10_22_Microsoft_Edge.png2019_04_12_22_10_55_Microsoft_Edge.png2019_04_12_22_11_30_Microsoft_Edge.png2019_04_12_22_11_50_Microsoft_Edge.png2019_04_12_22_12_10_Microsoft_Edge.png

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.57K
  • 425
  • 1.13K
Superuser
Superuser
215 Views
Message 13 of 18
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Vivid 350 Modem Speed Issue

@kirkkaf13 Thanks for posting the hub figures.  I had to reject the log screen grabs as the MAC addresses in them had not been obscured.

Power levels seem OK.  There was one "RCS Partial service" error in the log with a date of yesterday, but none in the 11 days before that covered by the log so may be a one off.  If those errors were to occur regularly then it would indicate a fault on your line.

You didn't answer my question about which band the phone is connecting to.  To get higher wireless speeds the phone needs to connect to the 5Ghz band.  What link speed does the phone report?

I would also echo @jbrennand's suggestion about trying different web browsers, it has made a difference for others on here.  Which speed test site are you using?  It might be worth trying a few to see if the results are consistent.

Other things to check are drivers and settings for the Ethernet port, check for any BIOS Ethernet settings or LAN manager apps that might be throttling your bandwidth.  See similar issue on MSI forum here:

https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=292364.0

With regard to the Nighthawk slowing things down, a quick Google shows that in the past the Traffic Meter setting in the R8000 had a bug that throttled speeds by mistake.  Should have been fixed by now but might be worth asking on the Netgear forums for help on that half of your issue.

______________________
Scott

  • 9
  • 0
  • 2
kirkkaf13
Tuning in
205 Views
Message 14 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 Modem Speed Issue

Hi Scott,

Thank you for taking down the screen grabs I wasn't aware that would be a problem so I appreciate that. I believe the RCS Partial server error was the day I installed the Nighthawk and switched over to Modem mode for the first time.

As for my phone, it is connected to 5Ghz-2. I have noticed however the Nighthawk has been switching them depending on the task being performed.

I have disabled Traffic Meter as I won't really be needing this feature anyway, I have just removed the MSI Gaming LAN manager as again I don't use it and that post suggested it slowed things down for people.

I am going to check my drivers, settings and BIO settings and restart and try again with multiple browsers and various speed tests. Currently I tried the one built into Edge browser just by googling "speed test" and www.speedtest.net with both Edge and Chrome.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.57K
  • 425
  • 1.13K
Superuser
Superuser
189 Views
Message 15 of 18
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Vivid 350 Modem Speed Issue


@kirkkaf13 wrote:

Thank you for taking down the screen grabs I wasn't aware that would be a problem so I appreciate that. I believe the RCS Partial server error was the day I installed the Nighthawk and switched over to Modem mode for the first time.

Switching to modem mode shouldn't generate that error, so I think the two events are unrelated.

As for my phone, it is connected to 5Ghz-2. I have noticed however the Nighthawk has been switching them depending on the task being performed.

It should only be switching bands if your phone is out of range of the 5Ghz signal so it falls back to 2.4Ghz.  My older Nighthawk (R7000) can provide a strong 5Ghz signal to every room in my house, so these days I rarely have the 2.4Ghz band switched on except when I want to get my PS Vita online.  Have you tried getting the phone to forget the 2.4Ghz settings and force it to stay on 5Ghz?  

I have disabled Traffic Meter as I won't really be needing this feature anyway, I have just removed the MSI Gaming LAN manager as again I don't use it and that post suggested it slowed things down for people.

I am going to check my drivers, settings and BIO settings and restart and try again with multiple browsers and various speed tests. Currently I tried the one built into Edge browser just by googling "speed test" and www.speedtest.net with both Edge and Chrome.

I stopped using speedtest.net a while ago. I know it is VM's preferred test, because they have VM test servers on there, but in the past it gave me very mixed results depending on which browser I used. These days I go with the DSLReports one (http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest) as it always seems to match the speed I'm getting from downloads.

______________________
Scott

  • 9
  • 0
  • 2
kirkkaf13
Tuning in
182 Views
Message 16 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 Modem Speed Issue

Hi Scott,

Thank you so much for your help! Looks like I have been using the incorrect Intel driver and software for my LAN/Mobo. 

 

Untitled.png

Honestly cannot thank you enough for your perseverance. You are definitely an asset to this community!

 

Thanks!

  • 3.57K
  • 425
  • 1.13K
Superuser
Superuser
167 Views
Message 17 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 Modem Speed Issue

Glad to hear you are now able to get the speed you should.

I'm curious, was that speed test via the Nighthawk or direct to the hub?

______________________
Scott

  • 9
  • 0
  • 2
kirkkaf13
Tuning in
152 Views
Message 18 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 Modem Speed Issue

Hi Scott,

That was via Nighthawk.

Cheers.