Menu
Reply
  • 208
  • 5
  • 20
lewis-brooks
Superfast
479 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Vivid 350 - Go speeds below expected range

Hi all  

 

I'm on VIVID 350 and have gone through 3 different routers using SH3 as a modem AND I've used the SH3 as a router. 

During peak times my speeds have slipped below VMs expected range 371-333mbps

I've factory reset the SH3, had an engineer out who said everything looked normal but an engineer obviously cannot attend during peak times.

Any advise? 


Just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong.
If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful; it may help others
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 208
  • 5
  • 20
lewis-brooks
Superfast
471 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 - Go speeds below expected range

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1299000000-1.438256 qam17
2171000000038256 qam1
3179000000-0.238256 qam2
4187000000-0.238256 qam3
5195000000-0.438256 qam4
6203000000-0.938256 qam5
7211000000-138256 qam6
8219000000-1.238256 qam7
9227000000-1.538256 qam8

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1244000004.6512016 qam31
2310000004.675512016 qam30


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
Network LogTime Priority Description
13/02/2019 19:41:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/02/2019 01:29:36ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/02/2019 12:28:43ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/02/2019 09:37:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/02/2019 15:45:56noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
20/02/2019 15:47:11noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
24/02/2019 16:01:52ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/02/2019 16:17:52Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/02/2019 05:09:0ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/02/2019 15:58:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/02/2019 16:37:47ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/02/2019 18:16:14ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/02/2019 22:02:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:29Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:29Warning!MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/03/2019 05:14:41ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/03/2019 03:44:47ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/03/2019 05:42:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/03/2019 08:48:23ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong.
If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful; it may help others
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.33K
  • 44
  • 98
Forum Team
Forum Team
400 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 - Go speeds below expected range

Hi lewis-brooks,

 

Thanks for posting. I am sorry to hear you're having broadband speed issues.

 

Please can you advise, what speeds are you getting and how are you testing please? Wired/wireless and method of test (device)

 

Kind regards,

John_GS
Forum Team

Need a helpful hand to show you how to make a payment? Check out our guide - "How to pay my Virgin Media bill"

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.61K
  • 129
  • 354
jpeg1
Trouble shooter
388 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 - Go speeds below expected range


@John_GS wrote:

Hi lewis-brooks,

 

Thanks for posting. I am sorry to hear you're having broadband speed issues.

 

Please can you advise, what speeds are you getting and how are you testing please? Wired/wireless and method of test (device)

 

Kind regards,


Why are you asking those questions?

Can't you see that the number of download and upload channels are far short of the required number for his 350Mb/s service?

OP there is something seriously wrong with your connection. Call 150 for an online test and probable engineer visit. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 208
  • 5
  • 20
lewis-brooks
Superfast
379 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 - Go speeds below expected range

Last time I had an engineer out they said nothing wrong lol


Just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong.
If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful; it may help others
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.91K
  • 261
  • 650
Roger_Gooner
Community elder
360 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 - Go speeds below expected range

I'm also on VIVID 350 but I've got 24 downstream channels and four upstream channels (at 64QAM), so you are seriously lacking. This is more like what you should have.

Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	SNR (dB)	Modulation	Channel ID
1	299000000	0	37	256 qam	21
2	139000000	4.5	37	256 qam	1
3	147000000	3.9	37	256 qam	2
4	155000000	3.2	37	256 qam	3
5	163000000	3	37	256 qam	4
6	171000000	3	37	256 qam	5
7	179000000	2.9	36	256 qam	6
8	187000000	2.4	36	256 qam	7
9	195000000	1.9	35	256 qam	8
10	203000000	1.5	35	256 qam	9
11	211000000	1.5	34	256 qam	10
12	219000000	1.2	34	256 qam	11
13	227000000	0.7	34	256 qam	12
14	235000000	0.2	34	256 qam	13
15	243000000	0	35	256 qam	14
16	251000000	0	35	256 qam	15
17	259000000	-0.2	36	256 qam	16
18	267000000	-0.2	36	256 qam	17
19	275000000	-0.4	37	256 qam	18
20	283000000	-0.2	37	256 qam	19
21	291000000	-0.2	37	256 qam	20
22	307000000	-0.4	37	256 qam	22
23	315000000	-0.7	38	256 qam	23
24	323000000	-0.7	38	256 qam	24


Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Locked Status	RxMER (dB)	Pre RS Errors	Post RS Errors
1	Locked	37.3	118	0
2	Locked	37.6	378	0
3	Locked	37.3	108	0
4	Locked	37.3	166	0
5	Locked	37.3	196	0
6	Locked	37.3	79	0
7	Locked	36.6	76	0
8	Locked	36.6	107	0
9	Locked	35.5	412	0
10	Locked	35.5	917	0
11	Locked	34.9	5165	0
12	Locked	34.9	10844	0
13	Locked	34.9	19693	0
14	Locked	34.9	12599	0
15	Locked	35.5	2420	0
16	Locked	35.7	267	0
17	Locked	36.6	176	0
18	Locked	36.6	62	0
19	Locked	37.3	81	0
20	Locked	37.3	66	0
21	Locked	37.3	68	0
22	Locked	37.6	67	0
23	Locked	38.6	83	0
24	Locked	38.6	67	0
Upstream bonded channels
Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	Symbol Rate (ksps)	Modulation	Channel ID
1	53700000	4.375	5120	64 qam	10
2	60299951	4.425	5120	64 qam	9
3	46200000	4.325	5120	64 qam	11
4	39400005	4.325	5120	64 qam	12


Upstream bonded channels
Channel	Channel Type	T1 Timeouts	T2 Timeouts	T3 Timeouts	T4 Timeouts
1	ATDMA	0	0	0	0
2	ATDMA	0	0	0	0
3	ATDMA	0	0	0	0
4	ATDMA	0	0	0	0
--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.57K
  • 1.06K
  • 2.49K
griffin
Alessandro Volta
357 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 - Go speeds below expected range

Unless the OP is not scrolling down to capture the other channels.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 208
  • 5
  • 20
lewis-brooks
Superfast
352 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 - Go speeds below expected range

The OP is an IT technician and not an idiot lol


Just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong.
If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful; it may help others
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.91K
  • 261
  • 650
Roger_Gooner
Community elder
349 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 - Go speeds below expected range

I also don't think that two upstream 16QAM channels can be right, so VM needs to get someone to sort this out.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.57K
  • 1.06K
  • 2.49K
griffin
Alessandro Volta
334 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 - Go speeds below expected range

@lewis-brooks wrote:

The OP is an IT technician and not an idiot lol


As the Hub displays the first 9 downstream channels initially, it would not be the first time, by far that only the first 9 downstream channels have been posted, always worth a check.

I see your primary downstream channel is on 299MHz and Channel 9 is on 227MHZ. I just wonder where the channels on 235, 243, 251,.259, 267, 275, 283 and 291MHz have gone,? unless they are hiding further down the page

If the number of downstream channels have dropped from the usual 20 \ 24 to 9, might have provided a tiny clue why downstream speeds are dropping and certainly worth mentioning. I am not sure if the CMTS is even can broadcast a 9 channel downstream bonding group as they are usually grouped in groups of 4. Due to load balancing 371Mbps would not be achievable with only 9 downstream channels.

I agree that only 2 16QAM upstream channels may be problematic on a 350Mbps pacjage, pending the loading on the local circuit.
However, there is nothing in your logs to suggest the upstream is in any distress.
It would be highly advisable to start a Broadband Quality Monitor to get a deeper insight on how your local circuit is performing.

0 Kudos
Reply