cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virgin Media Latency

adhsmith
On our wavelength

Hi there,

I have recently moved from Sky FTTC 160/30 G. Fast product to VMs 660/45, bandwidth wise VM has been spot on.

Foolishly I guess I expected the higher bandwidth network to be the faster more responsive network with respect to latency.

For a time I had Sky and VM side by side and on VPN to my office in Germany I was seeing 38-40ms on Sky but with VM on my VPN to the office and in fact on any tests in general it is 10-15ms worse, whilst it is not the end of the world I can still work productively and gaming pings have been acceptable, I'm no pro, but I would like to confirm this is an expected byproduct of running VMs older infrastructure and not an actual issue with my VM install.

I'm running a Hub4 and have tried it in and out of modem mode, modem mode doesn't improve things to any noticeable degree.

Is there anything I should look at or is it just what it is?

27 REPLIES 27

Andrew-G
Alessandro Volta

That is indeed how things are.  DOCSIS (the technology for cable internet) is a triumph of ingenuity, but that can't take away that it is not an approach you'd ever dream of creating now.  As it is at heart an analogue technology using radio frequency communication across multiple channels in a shared spectrum It has an inherent "fringe" of variable peak latencies, and a higher minimum latency than any modern optical fibre technology.  Things aren't quite so bad if you're on VM's very newest stretches of network, as these generally use FTTP and then analogue radio frequency coax through the wall (!).

Normal that's not a problem, but if things do go wrong with cable it is often the latency that suffers first.  

adhsmith
On our wavelength