Menu
Reply
  • 29
  • 3
  • 6
Touhoufan
On our wavelength
797 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Upload speed has been increased for the 200M package.

Heya just a heads up really..

I did a router reset last night and it seems that my Max Traffic Rate on the upstream went up to 22000061, now giving me 20mb when I run a speedtest. No change on the download.

  
Max Traffic Rate22000061
Max Traffic Burst42600

 

Speedtest: https://www.speedtest.net/result/8380775704

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 932
  • 43
  • 120
happywithmy350
Well-informed
765 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed has been increased for the 200M package.


@Touhoufan wrote:

Heya just a heads up really..

I did a router reset last night and it seems that my Max Traffic Rate on the upstream went up to 22000061, now giving me 20mb when I run a speedtest. No change on the download.

  
Max Traffic Rate22000061
Max Traffic Burst42600

 

Speedtest: https://www.speedtest.net/result/8380775704


Yup - but as always there is a catch with VM and it's related to this . The article implies VM are going 10:1 based on the 200/20 100/10 and 50/5 mbps speed upload boost. No mention of 500/50 but it does say

"We continue to do more for our customers and lead the way with the fastest broadband speeds – now reaching 500Mbps with gigabit speeds launching soon"

Now does that mean soon for people in FTTP areas or soon for everyone on the DOCSIS network? If the price increase is for everyone it'll be OK but if it's just for fancy new builds with FTTP it's probably going to annoy some people . And is this soon or "VM soon" which we know is years ahead of the actual time. 

 

https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2019/07/isp-virgin-media-uk-starts-boosting-broadband-upload-s...

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 19.76K
  • 2.02K
  • 3.78K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
748 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed has been increased for the 200M package.


@happywithmy350 wrote:

Yup - but as always there is a catch with VM and it's related to this . The article implies VM are going 10:1 based on the 200/20 100/10 and 50/5 mbps speed upload boost. No mention of 500/50 but it does say

"We continue to do more for our customers and lead the way with the fastest broadband speeds – now reaching 500Mbps with gigabit speeds launching soon"

Now does that mean soon for people in FTTP areas or soon for everyone on the DOCSIS network? If the price increase is for everyone it'll be OK but if it's just for fancy new builds with FTTP it's probably going to annoy some people . And is this soon or "VM soon" which we know is years ahead of the actual time. 

https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2019/07/isp-virgin-media-uk-starts-boosting-broadband-upload-s...


M350 already had it's change with it now being 35Mbps upload, up from 20Mbps. The M500 tier that launched at the same time as that change currently shares that upload speed, and as M500 has only just launched I wouldn't expect a further change to it for a while.

In regards to the other tier upload changes, all areas will get them. It's not limited to FTTP.

All the current uploads are published here https://www.virginmedia.com/shop/broadband/speeds

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 932
  • 43
  • 120
happywithmy350
Well-informed
736 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed has been increased for the 200M package.

Thanks - and can you comment on the GB coming soon?
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.04K
  • 930
  • 1.41K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
726 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed has been increased for the 200M package.

Anyone got an upstream increase using an SH2/2ac ?

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.3K
  • 179
  • 542
Andruser
Knows their stuff
697 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed has been increased for the 200M package.

Can't comment on the SH2/ac situation, but my Hub 3/200 Mbps service is still serving me a 12 Mbps upload.  So if we do all get it, its a phased roll out, or we're not all going to get it.  

As is usual with VM, a case of wait and see.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 932
  • 43
  • 120
happywithmy350
Well-informed
680 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed has been increased for the 200M package.

you dont a reboot?
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 39
  • 1
  • 2
mpitts
On our wavelength
669 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed has been increased for the 200M package.


@happywithmy350 wrote:
Thanks - and can you comment on the GB coming soon?

I should imagine it's referring to this:

https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2019/05/named-virgin-medias-possible-1gbps-broadband-uk-launch... 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 181
  • 4
  • 48
Darkman
Superfast
658 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed has been increased for the 200M package.


@jbrennand wrote:
Anyone got an upstream increase using an SH2/2ac ?

Yes. It went live on Friday 28th for me. It feels strangely reassuring to be back to the old 10:1 ratio.

_____________________________________________

SH 2ac, 200Mb BB; V6 TiVo, Full House TV; M Phone just to call VM
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 121
  • 4
  • 9
fiesata
Up to speed
620 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed has been increased for the 200M package.

I've got a Hub 3 and have rebooted but no increase has anyone in area 04 got the increase yet?
0 Kudos
Reply