Menu
Reply
  • 55
  • 0
  • 3
Bluenosedcoop
On our wavelength
551 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Upgraded to Vivid350 still getting Vivid 200 speeds

As title says i upgraded to Vivid350 last week and got a new Superhub 3 sent out and set it up Thursday night and all seems to be to working well in terms of stability but the download speeds are still exactly what the Vivid 200 speeds are supposed to be.

I've been through the at best mediocre tech support on the phone now twice and as i had already anticipated they asked me to do all the usual try different devices, check what speed my NIC can handle, check i have a cat6 cable.

The tech support the second time did something with the connection which i think looked to be just a router reset or maybe sending the config file again and that's resulted in no change either.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.68K
  • 890
  • 1.35K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
546 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Vivid350 still getting Vivid 200 speeds

Look in the config file in the Hub settings and see what numbers are set to in the "max upload" and "max download" boxes - or just post it up here.  They do sometimes "forget" to apply the upgrade or there can be a wrong digit upon typing in details. Worth ruling out before digging further.


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 55
  • 0
  • 3
Bluenosedcoop
On our wavelength
543 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Vivid350 still getting Vivid 200 speeds

I made an edit just as you replied i was trying to upload the router stats page but the forum keeps giving me an error to "Correct the highlighted errors and try again." and to "Please enter a value for this field" both of which i can't see what it requires of me to post this.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 55
  • 0
  • 3
Bluenosedcoop
On our wavelength
540 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Vivid350 still getting Vivid 200 speeds

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
299000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
60300000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

129900000010.138256 qam21
23230000009.638256 qam24
33150000001038256 qam23
430700000010.138256 qam22
529100000010.538256 qam20
628300000010.338256 qam19
727500000010.838256 qam18
826700000010.538256 qam17
925900000010.538256 qam16
102510000001038256 qam15
112430000001038256 qam14
1223500000010.538256 qam13
1322700000011.138256 qam12
1421900000011.138256 qam11
1521100000011.638256 qam10
162030000001238256 qam9
1719500000012.538256 qam8
1818700000013.338256 qam7
1917900000013.138256 qam6
2017100000013.538256 qam5
2116300000013.538256 qam4
2215500000013.938256 qam3
2314700000013.638256 qam2
241390000001438256 qam1



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9670
2Locked38.9550
3Locked38.6460
4Locked38.9660
5Locked38.6530
6Locked38.6630
7Locked38.9630
8Locked38.6680
9Locked38.61030
10Locked38.91110
11Locked38.9890
12Locked38.62640
13Locked38.6690
14Locked38.9820
15Locked38.9750
16Locked38.9580
17Locked38.9290
18Locked38.6410
19Locked38.6800
20Locked38.9800
21Locked38.91030
22Locked38.91670
23Locked38.93970
24Locked38.67260
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 55
  • 0
  • 3
Bluenosedcoop
On our wavelength
539 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Vivid350 still getting Vivid 200 speeds

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030000035512064 qam55
23940000034.3512064 qam58
34620000033.8512064 qam57
45370000034.5512064 qam56



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0020
4ATDMA0000

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxl35016u-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID21014
Max Traffic Rate402500000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID21013
Max Traffic Rate22010000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.68K
  • 890
  • 1.35K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
529 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Vivid350 still getting Vivid 200 speeds

The upgrade has clearly been applied.  I am no expert and others who are will comment - but your downstream power levels are all out of range and upstreams are near the bottom (see below).  I think you will need a technician's visit to bring these into range.

Downstream: no lower than -6dBmV and no higher than 10dBmV - Close to 0 is optimal.

Upstream: no lower than 31dBmV and no higher than 50dBmV ---   44dBmV to 46dBmV is optimal.


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
  • 55
  • 0
  • 3
Bluenosedcoop
On our wavelength
515 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Vivid350 still getting Vivid 200 speeds

Thanks, I suspected that may have been the case but wanted other opinions on the matter and trying to explain something like this to the phone support is completely out of the question.

Hope someone official on here see's this soon to be able to help.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.68K
  • 890
  • 1.35K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
508 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Vivid350 still getting Vivid 200 speeds

They will - but can take up to a week so its worth a try calling it in and explaining that you have had input from "experts" on this forum regarding the issue and they told you only a technicians visit can sort it.  If you cant get past their script reading just try every day till you get one who knows what they are talking about.

I also have a theory that as the offshore help is in the Philippines and as they are +8 hours GMT then the best time to call in, is around 8.00 in the morning - with the expectation that,,,  at least UK staff will be available too and that in the P'ines their "best qualified" staff will want to work the most sociable hours and there will be more of them around then.  I have to reiterate, that this is just an unproven hypothesis at the moment Smiley Happy


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 55
  • 0
  • 3
Bluenosedcoop
On our wavelength
422 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Vivid350 still getting Vivid 200 speeds

I've since tried to contact the customer support on the phone twice now trying to explain about the power levels and the possible need for an engineer visit but have been unable to get anyone willing to go off script and accept that there's are issues here that can't be solved over the phone.

Really would appreciate it greatly if a rep on here could have a look at this.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.98K
  • 993
  • 2.98K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
417 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Upgraded to Vivid350 still getting Vivid 200 speeds

adding to the thread pushes it down VM's queue - as said above you need a tech to sort the levels - offshore should book one but many of the agents have it in their head that they can solve all manner of things by rebooting the router - ring again - dont get involved - if they wont book a tech hang up

as a last resort before waiting a week or so here give retentions a ring - follow the prompts and make sure you are talking to someone in the UK

explain to them your levels are wrong and you need a tech NOT ot be transferred to level one which takes you back to offshore

dial 150 or 0345 454 1111 and follow the prompts to - 'thinking of leaving us' - then "technical issues" - dont worry about that they do much more - open 8am -10pm 7 days a week - should take you to a UK call centre

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply