Menu
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Alexandersdunn
Joining in
374 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Speed upgrade to 350mb from 70mb done, speed is worse!!

Hey guys, I've been on a 70mb connection for some time (usually get about 75mb down and 5up), I upgraded yesterday to 350mb and now am getting a nice 30-35mb up but as low as 40mb down - once it hit 170mb but not since, mostly 50-80mb. 

Speeds are consistent over Gigabit LAN with Cat5e cable and WiFi. I've restarted and also reset the router. No improvement. 

Here are my stats...

Thanks in advance guys

config.pngConfigrouter status.pngStatus upstream.pngupstream

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Alexandersdunn
Joining in
373 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed upgrade to 350mb from 70mb done, speed is worse!!

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 299000000 5.9 40 256 qam 21
2 179000000 5.1 40 256 qam 6
3 187000000 5 40 256 qam 7
4 195000000 5 40 256 qam 8
5 203000000 5 40 256 qam 9
6 211000000 5.1 40 256 qam 10
7 219000000 5.3 40 256 qam 11
8 227000000 4.4 38 256 qam 12
9 235000000 4.5 40 256 qam 13
10 243000000 4.6 40 256 qam 14
11 251000000 5.1 40 256 qam 15
12 259000000 5.3 40 256 qam 16
13 267000000 5.4 40 256 qam 17
14 275000000 5.5 40 256 qam 18
15 283000000 5.5 40 256 qam 19
16 291000000 5.5 40 256 qam 20
17 307000000 5.9 40 256 qam 22
18 315000000 6 40 256 qam 23
19 323000000 5.9 40 256 qam 24
20 450750000 6.6 40 256 qam 25
21 458750000 6.4 40 256 qam 26
22 466750000 6.3 40 256 qam 27
23 474750000 6.6 40 256 qam 28
24 482750000 6.5 40 256 qam 29


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 40.3 5 0
2 Locked 40.3 4 0
3 Locked 40.3 17 0
4 Locked 40.3 16 0
5 Locked 40.9 4 0
6 Locked 40.3 6 0
7 Locked 40.3 5 0
8 Locked 38.9 0 0
9 Locked 40.3 4 0
10 Locked 40.9 6 0
11 Locked 40.3 5 0
12 Locked 40.3 4 0
13 Locked 40.9 5 0
14 Locked 40.3 5 0
15 Locked 40.9 3 0
16 Locked 40.3 5 0
17 Locked 40.3 6 0
18 Locked 40.9 5 0
19 Locked 40.9 0 0
20 Locked 40.9 1 0
21 Locked 40.3 5 0
22 Locked 40.9 6 0
23 Locked 40.9 7 0
24 Locked 40.9 5 0
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.53K
  • 70
  • 454
Buffer6
Community elder
359 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed upgrade to 350mb from 70mb done, speed is worse!!

Equipment with a 10/100 network card wont exceed 100Mbs speeds, check the equipment you're using has a Gigabit network card in it/them and is set on auto

auto negotiation.PNG

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Alexandersdunn
Joining in
352 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed upgrade to 350mb from 70mb done, speed is worse!!

Thanks for the reply, as I say I'm using a Gigabit LAN and the connection is on 1Gbps auto.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.53K
  • 70
  • 454
Buffer6
Community elder
339 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed upgrade to 350mb from 70mb done, speed is worse!!

Which Hub are you using 1, 2 or 3?  you could sign in and run the broadband test in https://my.virginmedia.com/home/index

it might determine a fault somewhere.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Alexandersdunn
Joining in
335 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed upgrade to 350mb from 70mb done, speed is worse!!

the superhub 3 - I also just tried the old 45 second reset. No joy.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Alexandersdunn
Joining in
324 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed upgrade to 350mb from 70mb done, speed is worse!!

test.png

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.53K
  • 70
  • 454
Buffer6
Community elder
317 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed upgrade to 350mb from 70mb done, speed is worse!!

We will have to wait for a moderator to enable your pics in this thread..... Are you using a router as well as the SHub or just the SHub, is it in router or modem mode?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Alexandersdunn
Joining in
306 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed upgrade to 350mb from 70mb done, speed is worse!!

ahhhhhhhh,

basically no faults on the test page. I can post the status info from the router as text like I did with the download stuff if that's a help?

Sh3 alone in router mode

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Alexandersdunn
Joining in
300 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed upgrade to 350mb from 70mb done, speed is worse!!

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
299000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39400000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000004.475512016 qam68
2258000004.35512016 qam70
3326000004.425512016 qam69
4462000004.475512016 qam67



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000



0 Kudos
Reply