cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed upgrade has slowed me down

MH1985
Tuning in

Hello,

Received an unsolicited email from VM saying I'm being upgraded from my M200 package to M250.. for free! (I expect a price increase to top that off soon too..)

Knew it was too good to be true, so I did a speed test before resetting my router, alas 210mbps down and 21 up, very happy with that its just what I need. Reboot my router as advised and now I'm getting 36mbps down and 25 up! Wow! 

Phoned customer/technical support asking to put me back on M200 as I don't want the M250 package as its slow, and they said they can't change it back and that I need to wait 24 hours for the changes to take affect and that there is some technical upgrades happening which might be causing it go to perform slowly. I worked in the IT industry for 8 years, 2 of which was with a broadband company and that old chestnut was used when we had no answer to speed issues. 

What gives VM? This is very frustrating, and don't give me some rubbish about rebooting my router and removing devices as it was just fine before this stupid upgrade. 

16 REPLIES 16

mikereeves
Joining in

Similar here - though different upload download speeds:
Before "speed" upgrade - 210mbps download 20mbps upload
After "speed" upgrade - 180mbps download 10mbps upload

Haven't bothered calling support as I don't want to answer the questions from the script they follow - hopefully they will fix it and luckily 180mbps is still good enough for our usage.

It's just so frustrating, I was on M350 before and that was all over the place, I downgraded my whole package which in turn reduced me to the M200 broadband and it had been so stable and consistent that I was actually content.