Menu
Reply
  • 55
  • 1
  • 3
bluetac
Dialled in
512 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Speed upgrade gone wrong

HI can someone look at my logs please, the self test says there is nothing wrong when there is.

 yesterday my speed was ok , i am guessing this morning the speed update was rolled out in my area . My download speed has dropped from 380 meg down to 94 meg / my upload from 21 to 38

 

I have a hob 3 in modem mode , a RT-AC87U router all have been rebooted a number of times

past speed tests including today's are below 

 

 
5/2/2019 
1:14 PM
8
94.85
36.26
< 50
Wolverhampton
Virgin Media
Virgin Media
 
5/2/2019 
12:54 PM
8
94.20
36.10
< 50
Wolverhampton
Virgin Media
Virgin Media
 
4/24/2019 
5:56 PM
7
385.55
20.19
< 50
Wolverhampton
Virgin Media
Virgin Media
 
4/24/2019 
5:55 PM
8
381.80
20.36
< 50
Wolverhampton
Virgin Media
Virgin Media

 

logs from the hub that i think cover the issue, i have only included today's logs , previous ones are DHCP related and are old. 

02/05/2019 03:27:46ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/05/2019 03:27:46noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxl35016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/05/2019 04:18:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 268
  • 7
  • 31
Eeeps
Superfast
469 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed upgrade gone wrong

If you could post the Router Stats - Configuration tab that may help...

Mine...

General Configuration
Network access Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs 1
Baseline Privacy Enabled
DOCSIS Mode Docsis30
Config file cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxl35016u-b.cm

Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID 42550
Max Traffic Rate 402500089
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0

Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID 42549
Max Traffic Rate 38500089
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0
Max Concatenated Burst 42600
Scheduling Type BestEffort

 

Cheers.

Ian

 

p.s. and maybe the Downstream tab too

  • 55
  • 1
  • 3
bluetac
Dialled in
408 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed upgrade gone wrong

Thank you for the reply Epps

Ok so i am going to pop this down to user error, turns out my network connection on my was only reading 100 meg and not 1000, unplugged the cable and poped it back in and i am back to gigabit .

Speed test looks a little better but it is still not 500 infact there is no change in download from before the upgrade, the upload there is though

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.47K
  • 302
  • 749
Roger_Gooner
Community elder
383 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed upgrade gone wrong

Have you paid for VIVID 500? I don't think that your hub is provisioned for this.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 55
  • 1
  • 3
bluetac
Dialled in
302 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed upgrade gone wrong

I have been paying for the top download package ever since it was available, so unless virgin have brought out one above the vivid 350 then I I don't know

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.47K
  • 302
  • 749
Roger_Gooner
Community elder
282 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed upgrade gone wrong

You are on VIVID 350 and there is no free upgrade to VIVID 500.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply