cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow speeds on PC not mobile?

vsbean294
Joining in

Hi all,

I'm new to Virgin Media broadband, only installed 12 days ago. On the M200 package. Up to now have been getting 180-220 mbps which is amazing. 

Just noticed yesterday and today, on my PC I have only been getting 2-10 mbps! On my phone it is fine but not my PC. My adapter (TP link) is up to date with latest drivers. Not sure why suddenly its has dropped? I game a lot so keen to get sorted ASAP! 

Any advice would be much appreciated.

10 REPLIES 10

Adduxi
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

Are you testing the speed to your PC with a known good Cat 6 cable, wired directly to the Hub?  If not you need to do so, as all other speed tests are not valid.

Speed is only guaranteed wired to the Hub.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Travis_M
Forum Team
Forum Team

Hi @vsbean294

Thanks for posting on our community forum!

How is your connection today? Have you tested the speeds via a Cat6 ethernet cable?

Regards

Travis_M
Forum Team

New around here? Check out the do's and don'ts, in our Community FAQs

I have no idea what at Cat6 ethernet cable is, also my router is downstairs and I can't physically move my PC towards it. 

It's just weird that initially I was getting 200-220 download and now I'm getting 2. It is so slow I can't even have more than one tab open on the internet! Never had this problem before with my previous internet supplier.

Hi, if its fine on your phone but the PC is slow it has to be the PC itself, or something related to.  

I work for VMO2 but all opinions are my own and are based on my own experiences