Menu
Reply
cocchi
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
560 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Slow speed WITHOUT a VPN - plenty of RCS errors

Hi all, 

 

Lately, I have been struggling to get a reliable connection. I have the M100 but often struggle to get past 20Mbps. This improves massively with a VPN, allowing me to get 100Mb. The speed is low (the same) even with the ethernet cable. And again much faster with VPN

However, I cannot get the speed on my TV as it does not support VPN.

Furthermore, my router needs frequent resets. I have attached the following log.

 

Any suggestions?

 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
557 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed WITHOUT a VPN - plenty of RCS errors

What speeds do you get at >>  SamKnows << with a direct connection using a Cat 5E or better ethernet cable between the Hub in Router Mode and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?

Then immediately after …

Can you Login to the Hub Settings and navigate to the Connected Devices page - what is the reported 'connection speed’ for the ethernet cable connected device you used for the speed test ?


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
553 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed WITHOUT a VPN - plenty of RCS errors

If possible can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Please post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here straight away.

Instructions for posting BQM Live Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
550 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed WITHOUT a VPN - plenty of RCS errors

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Status.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again.

Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
cocchi
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
531 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed WITHOUT a VPN - plenty of RCS errors

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11390000002.237256 qam1
21470000002.238256 qam2
31550000001.738256 qam3
4163000000237256 qam4
51710000002.238256 qam5
6179000000237256 qam6
71870000001.237256 qam7
81950000000.237256 qam8
9203000000-0.235256 qam9
102110000000.437256 qam10
112190000001.227256 qam11
122270000000.929256 qam12
13235000000037256 qam13
14243000000037256 qam14
15251000000037256 qam15
162590000000.237256 qam16
172670000000.237256 qam17
18275000000-0.437256 qam18
19283000000037256 qam19
202910000000.738256 qam20
212990000001.237256 qam21
22307000000138256 qam22
23315000000137256 qam23
24323000000138256 qam24


Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.633040
2Locked38.679287
3Locked38.613646
4Locked37.610361
5Locked38.64242
6Locked37.36132
7Locked37.69011
8Locked37.611317
9Locked3514218
10Locked37.3680
11Locked27.44278340746758841
12Locked29.7724333603398938
13Locked37.62016
14Locked37.61217
15Locked37.91615
16Locked37.350
17Locked37.370
18Locked37.630
19Locked37.680
20Locked38.670
21Locked37.950
22Locked38.690
23Locked37.660
24Locked38.620

upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000051512064 qam5
24620000051512064 qam3
33939999551512064 qam4
42579995651512064 qam6


Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0030
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID72658
Max Traffic Rate117000047
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID72657
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

10/01/2021 12:10:49Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;10/01/2021 12:10:46noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;10/01/2021 12:10:43Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;10/01/2021 12:10:40noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;10/01/2021 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 7.2K
  • 1.37K
  • 2.06K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
516 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed WITHOUT a VPN - plenty of RCS errors

Hello

SNR on two of your downstream (11 & 12) are too low as well as the power levels on your upstream are maxed out, you are going to need an engineer more than likely to resolve this.

One thing you can try too see if you can resolve and that is too go around and make sure that all coaxial connection to all VM equipment are finger tight, best way to do this is too loosen the connector and re-tighten, then power off the hub for 30 secs and then back on if the figures are pretty much the same then yep an engineer needs to look at your connection at your premises.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
cocchi
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
483 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed WITHOUT a VPN - plenty of RCS errors

Thank you so much for your response. So do you think is it a WIFI issue of incoming broadband? With a VPN and the ethernet I can get the full speed. WIth ethernet but without VPN it is still slow
0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 7.2K
  • 1.37K
  • 2.06K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
415 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed WITHOUT a VPN - plenty of RCS errors

Hello

The problem is due to the signal coming down to the hub from your local cabinet and will affect everything, VPN connections are normally compressed and encrypted when doing a speedtest on a VPN it isn't the signal to your hub that it is reporting it will be the VPNs end point.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply