Menu
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Alan_edward
Joining in
350 Views
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Slow Broadband Speeds

Hi

I have just got off the phone with a customer service agent who couldn't resolve the slow speeds I am facing.

The last time I checked on 2nd April I was receiving 101mbps on my 102mbps line.

Last week I received 9 to 20 mbps and following 2 calls a new hub 3.0 was sent which I connected today.  The speeds sit between 22 and 40mbps now and the third call today didn't resolve.  I cannot understand the dramatic drop in speed.  Can someone please help (I have also placed a complaint and expecting someone with manager grade to call back).

Here are the details from the router.  

Thanks in advance.

Alan

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12987500002.734256 qam17
21707500004.537256 qam1
31787500003.936256 qam2
41867500004.136256 qam3
51947500003.936256 qam4
62027500003.536256 qam5
72107500003.536256 qam6
82187500003.236256 qam7
9226750000335256 qam8
102347500002.735256 qam9
112427500002.735256 qam10
122507500002.735256 qam11
132587500002.535256 qam12
142667500002.534256 qam13
152747500002.735256 qam14
162827500002.735256 qam15
172907500002.534256 qam16
183067500002.735256 qam18
193147500002.935256 qam19
203227500002.535256 qam20



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked35210304692289674
2Locked37.61682638651183
3Locked36.619854958351559
4Locked36.318940582114938
5Locked36.619450404023683
6Locked36.620176692280064
7Locked36.320063075075146
8Locked36.620352350690986
9Locked35.5208739344266077
10Locked35.5206023001172365
11Locked35.5206424327161539
12Locked35.7208881734299805
13Locked35.5206104338195130
14Locked35206494355172711
15Locked34.9208328413278661
16Locked35.520171872888488
17Locked35204984659121492
18Locked35206900349195115
19Locked34.9204357751118564
20Locked35.71761225353381

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7.89K
  • 816
  • 1.23K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
339 Views
Message 2 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speeds

Stats are incomplete. Can you post up details from the upstream and network logs pages (blank out personal details like MAC addresses ). Also as there are a lot of RS errors for a 1 day old hub can you reset the numbers or reboot it before posting again.

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Alan_edward
Joining in
333 Views
Message 3 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speeds

HI,

Thanks for supporting with this.

Here are the stats after the reboot

 

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
298750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46200000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1298750000335256 qam17
21707500004.837256 qam1
31787500004.536256 qam2
41867500004.136256 qam3
5194750000436256 qam4
6202750000436256 qam5
72107500003.736256 qam6
82187500003.536256 qam7
92267500003.435256 qam8
10234750000335256 qam9
11242750000335256 qam10
122507500002.935256 qam11
132587500002.535256 qam12
142667500002.935256 qam13
15274750000335256 qam14
16282750000335256 qam15
172907500002.934256 qam16
18306750000335256 qam18
193147500003.235256 qam19
20322750000336256 qam20



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked352127153524757
2Locked37.61613315474
3Locked36.6189265084805
4Locked36.6181057731035
5Locked36.6184995021663
6Locked36.3192191236545
7Locked36.3190753696844
8Locked36.3193915996492
9Locked35.71986982719045
10Locked35.71960237312416
11Locked35.51965275014398
12Locked35.51989227829808
13Locked35.51960824018320
14Locked351963247816996
15Locked351980500926607
16Locked35.7191667668804
17Locked34.91952221711006
18Locked351967581812911
19Locked35.2194687169288
20Locked36.116836163221

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462000004.95512064 qam1
2326000004.925512064 qam3
3394000004.975512064 qam2
4258000004.75512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Nothing new on the error log

30/04/2019 18:22:43noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
30/04/2019 18:25:27ErrorDisruption during SW download - Power Failure
30/04/2019 18:25:31noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
30/04/2019 18:28:4noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
30/04/2019 18:36:55ErrorService Add Response rejected - Invalid transaction ID;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 53
  • 1
  • 3
jka94036
On our wavelength
330 Views
Message 4 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speeds

Your not alone with this issue, am recently having the same issues of a significant drop off of speeds

Up to now, all 150 do and offer is "reboot the hub"

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Alan_edward
Joining in
307 Views
Message 5 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speeds

It’s a shame that it takes over a week to identify a networking issue and as long as we know what the issue is and we can track a resolution date that itself would be a bonus for now

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.94K
  • 261
  • 651
Roger_Gooner
Community elder
296 Views
Message 6 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speeds

Your area still has only 20 downstream channels?

The power levels on the upstream channels are a bit high.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Alan_edward
Joining in
288 Views
Message 7 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speeds

Not sure how many channels should be configured? And would high power levels contribute to general latency or impedance on the line?

any thoughts on the RS errors?

I have been with virgin media for over 10 years and this is the lowest speeds I have seen so far. It’s been very reliable and giving me max speeds every time.

 

any idea on how to resolve this?

Do virgin media engineers pick up next steps from this forum or is it up to me to call virgin media and explain the results of the investigation?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Alan_edward
Joining in
259 Views
Message 8 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speeds

It’s been over 48 hrs and the complaints team failed to contact me.

spoke to an agent called Sanjay Mondal who was very emotional for some reason.

he suggested that I use a cat 6 cable to check the speed because the cat 5 cable will not deliver speeds. This is not true because I am not even getting 25mbps today.

Is this how bad the level of service is. Appalling!

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.94K
  • 261
  • 651
Roger_Gooner
Community elder
249 Views
Message 9 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speeds

More utter rubbish from an agent, it's shocking how clueless some of them are.

VM is also notorious for not returning calls.

Hopefully a forum team member will assist.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 912
  • 55
  • 69
Forum Team
Forum Team
235 Views
Message 10 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speeds

Hi Alan_edward, 

 

Thanks for your post and welcome to our community Smiley Happy

 

Sorry to hear you're having some issues with slow speeds and that no one has been in touch regarding your complaint.

 

Can you please confirm what speeds you're getting on a wired connection?

 

And have you performed a pin hole reset?

 

Many thanks,

 

Alex_Rm

0 Kudos
Reply