Menu
Reply
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
michael121
Joining in
433 Views
Message 11 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Random Hub 3 Restarting

Just got another 2 errors on the log so thought i would update the post 

2018-10-11 16:36:55.00ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1970-01-01 00:01:37.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.3K
  • 105
  • 1
Moderator (Retired) Ty_S
Moderator (Retired)
414 Views
Message 12 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Random Hub 3 Restarting

Hi michael121

Thanks for getting back to us with that information. The odd T3 timeout shouldn't cause you issues but when checking your hub I'm unable to pull any data so I've sent you a PM to look at this further. Can you confirm if these disconnections happen over a wired or wireless connection.

Speak soon 


The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.3K
  • 105
  • 1
Moderator (Retired) Ty_S
Moderator (Retired)
403 Views
Message 13 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Random Hub 3 Restarting

Hi michael121

Thanks for replying to my PM. I've been able to run some checks on the hub and everything is looking great. You mentioned that this happens over wired and wireless connection does this affect one or more devices too?

Any changes to the hub lights when this happens? 

Is there anything showing in the hubs network log that matches these drop outs? 

Speak soon,

Ty


The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
michael121
Joining in
396 Views
Message 14 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Random Hub 3 Restarting

Yes it affects my Pc, Phone and my partners laptop all at the same time so it clearly is a problem with the hub/line as it happens across multiple devices at the same time so that rules out a defective Pc ect. No the lights on the hub stay normal it nothing flashing. Also when this happens nothing shows up in the network log. I have noticed that past say 5PM ish the drop outs seam to get a lot more frequent to a point where the internet is basically unusable.

Regards Michael
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
michael121
Joining in
346 Views
Message 15 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Random Hub 3 Restarting

Hey just a quick update, i had a engineer out today and he could not find anything wrong at all even when he saw the problem him self of losing internet access. He did say there is a slight bit of noise on my line at the green box a few doors down the street. So he has booked a network engineer to come out tomorrow to try and fix that and hopefully the problem will be sorted. I have included the network log for just today as i have been having a lot of issues today and dont know if they will help or not. 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

2018-10-24 14:44:28.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-10-24 14:44:28.00criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-10-24 14:44:28.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-10-24 14:44:28.00criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-10-24 14:44:28.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-10-24 14:44:32.00Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-10-24 14:47:32.00criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-10-24 19:07:39.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-10-24 19:07:39.00criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-10-24 19:07:39.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-10-24 19:12:11.00criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-10-24 19:12:11.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
michael121
Joining in
345 Views
Message 16 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Random Hub 3 Restarting

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.6 234 843
2 Locked 38.9 1111 554
3 Locked 38.6 770 563
4 Locked 38.9 694 674
5 Locked 38.6 621 936
6 Locked 38.9 283 872
7 Locked 38.6 275 851
8 Locked 38.6 169 883
9 Locked 38.6 143 947
10 Locked 38.9 126 860
11 Locked 38.6 98 858
12 Locked 38.6 79 1196
13 Locked 38.6 80 1194
14 Locked 38.9 63 1279
15 Locked 38.9 61 1098
16 Locked 38.6 44 1147
17 Locked 38.9 865 510
18 Locked 38.9 223 872
19 Locked 38.6 22 1443
20 Locked 38.6 22 1170
21 Locked 38.6 24 1347
22 Locked 38.9 25 1411
23 Locked 38.9 28 1353
24 Locked 38.9 28 1234
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
michael121
Joining in
328 Views
Message 17 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Random Hub 3 Restarting

Well what a surprise no one has been out today, i am still getting the internet dropping connection so after almost 1 and a half months and 5 engineers the problem is still not fixed and the hub is showing a load of post rs errors again. What i want to know is why am i being charged for a service that just is not working and no one seams to know how to fix it 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.630499776
2Locked38.91544442892
3Locked38.91407344322
4Locked38.91161148795
5Locked38.61505148362
6Locked38.929575648
7Locked38.629706107
8Locked38.932618489
9Locked38.628248571
10Locked38.626748431
11Locked38.624298959
12Locked38.6281011867
13Locked38.631179409
14Locked38.6346614909
15Locked38.6349714263
16Locked38.9333811583
17Locked38.61262348403
18Locked38.628307288
19Locked38.9341915662
20Locked38.6319818831
21Locked38.6330819729
22Locked38.6323320221
23Locked38.9366225665
24Locked38.6274117755
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
michael121
Joining in
311 Views
Message 18 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Random Hub 3 Restarting

Hi all,

Well since no body can tell me what is going on i thought i would do some testing of my own to try and narrow down the issue. What i have done is run a continuous ping test from the pc to the hub to test if the problem is my hardware and that the problem was with my computer no communicating to the hub but after two hours it was fine. Then i ran a ping to google.co.uk so after around 30 mins or so i stated getting Destination host unreachable and request timed out, so the results say there is a issue with the hub contacting the internet. So the next step was to change my dns to googles dns 8.8.8.8 / 8.8.4.4 and run the ping again just to rule out VM'S dns as the issue and had the same issue. From my basic test the problem still points the problem to some where between the hub and internet but VM keep denying all issues and saying everything is perfect. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.87K
  • 406
  • 1.24K
Forum Team (Retired) Nicola_C
Forum Team (Retired)
301 Views
Message 19 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Random Hub 3 Restarting

Hello michael121

I am sorry we have taken a while to reach you, we are a little thin on the ground at the moment but doing our best. I have thoroughly checked your connection, network logs etc and I am unable to see anything wrong. Your diagnostics are interesting, perhaps if it happens again please try a traceroute to Google url as well as a ping, also then see if you are able to log into the hub check the status, navigate to >Tools>Traceroute> and try from there. Do you happen to have a broadband quality monitor set up, if so please post the link, no worries if not. The only other thing is when you have problems please check that base light on the hub as it tends to be a good indicator of status.

Thanks so much

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
michael121
Joining in
296 Views
Message 20 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Random Hub 3 Restarting

Thanks for getting back to me as quick as you could, i did setup a bqm yesterday here is the link.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/b3b457b8674eb8cc0ba24fc4ace635d60912f5e4

 When the internet drops nothing changes with the hub regarding lights ect. I have even done a fresh win 10 install with drivers just in case it was my pc causing the issues it its still the same. I will try to get a trace done when it drops but some times the drop is only for a few seconds so it could be difficult. Also i am going to try to get a screen recording done so it will show the issue as well i dont know if it will help but a engineer might see the issue and say i know what is causing that if you know what i mean. 

Regards Michael

0 Kudos
Reply