Menu
Reply
bombkangaroo
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
702 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Packet loss issue

Hi, 

I've been getting intermittently low speeds recently. My BQM graph is showing a lot of periods of very high packet loss, and I'm noticing a lot of buffering and quality reduction in streaming video, and also rubber banding in multiplayer games when it happens. 

I've checked my connections and everything seems to be plugged in securely. 

Ethernet:
https://www.speedtest.net/result/12499918577

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1298750000-3.240256 qam21
2234750000-5.737256 qam13
3242750000-637256 qam14
4250750000-4.738256 qam15
5258750000-438256 qam16
6266750000-3.938256 qam17
7274750000-3.538256 qam18
8282750000-3.740256 qam19
9290750000-3.240256 qam20
10306750000-2.738256 qam22
11314750000-3.240256 qam23
12322750000-2.540256 qam24
13330750000-340256 qam25
14338750000-2.740256 qam26
15346750000-3.240256 qam27
16354750000-3.240256 qam28
17362750000-3.540256 qam29
18370750000-3.440256 qam30
19378750000-440256 qam31
20386750000-4.540256 qam32


Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3153725
2Locked37.334358270
3Locked37.3374271
4Locked38.621270457
5Locked38.92140249
6Locked38.9173338
7Locked38.6132337
8Locked40.3119127
9Locked40.3130120
10Locked38.994520
11Locked40.9102411
12Locked40.39068
13Locked40.38679
14Locked40.38716
15Locked40.35445
16Locked40.36671
17Locked40.97376
18Locked40.96285
19Locked40.97866
20Locked40.35089

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000051512064 qam2
23940000049.3512064 qam3
35370000051512064 qam1
43260000050.8512064 qam4

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 1.41K
  • 91
  • 309
Knows their stuff
700 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Packet loss issue

Uncorrected errors on downstream channels and too high power level on upstream channels shows you have an issue.

Downstream power levels look a touch low, even though in spec.

bombkangaroo
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
694 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss issue

Thanks for the quick response. 

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

21/12/2021 21:18:28Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:18:27Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:09:13Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:09:12Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:08:55Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:08:54Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:02:18Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:02:18Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:02:6Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:02:6Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:02:0Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:02:0Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:01:42Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:01:42Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:01:29Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:01:28Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:01:6Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:01:6Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:00:54Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2021 21:00:54Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 1.41K
  • 91
  • 309
Knows their stuff
691 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss issue

Terrible connection.

VM need to look into this.

Hayley_S
  • 3.9K
  • 129
  • 255
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
568 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss issue

Hello @bombkangaroo,

Welcome to the community, thanks for posting.

I am sorry about the issues with your connection.

Is this with your wired and wireless? Or just wireless? Have you tried doing a pinhole reset? 

Many thanks,

Hayley
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
bombkangaroo
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
547 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss issue

Hi @Hayley_S, 

This is both wired and wireless, and I can confirm that I have tried a pinhole reset. Resetting the router typically improves things for a short period of time, but the connection soon deteriorates again. 

Hayley_S
  • 3.9K
  • 129
  • 255
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
478 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss issue

Thank you for the update @bombkangaroo.

I am sorry that it is not fixing the issue.

Are you using any 3rd party routers?

Many thanks,

Hayley
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
bombkangaroo
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
472 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss issue

I can confirm that I am not using any third party routers, just the VM Super Hub 3. (plus the VM phone gubbins for the landline if that's any help)

I just tired another pinhole reset this morning, and my speedtest results improved immediately afterwards: 

https://www.speedtest.net/result/12521624201

But then ten minutes later we're back to this: 

https://www.speedtest.net/result/12521653580

The router status still shows Partial Service (DS). 

0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 1.41K
  • 91
  • 309
Knows their stuff
450 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss issue


@Hayley_S wrote:

Thank you for the update @bombkangaroo.

I am sorry that it is not fixing the issue.

Are you using any 3rd party routers?

Many thanks,


There is clearly an issue with their line.

Look at the BQM!

0 Kudos
Reply