Menu
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Bigdazza18
Joining in
768 Views
Message 1 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Not hitting 35Mbps upload

Hi,

After the recent upload speed bump I have noticed that I am not hitting the full upload speed. My upload speed seems to vary from between 18-30Mbps I was always able to consistently hit 20Mbps before the upgrade. My download is great and generally around 380Mbps

Below are the stats I found in the Hub, can anyone tell me if anything is wrong or if that is going to be the fastest upload I can achieve. I would love to gain the extra 5Mbps.

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1326000004.35512016 qam93
2462000004.5512016 qam91

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000

 

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID366341
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network log

25/04/2019 01:45:42ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/04/2019 10:39:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/04/2019 21:42:40Warning!TEK Invalid - Invalid Key Sequence Number;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.23K
  • 140
  • 565
cje85
Problem sorter
751 Views
Message 2 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not hitting 35Mbps upload

You only have two upstream channels, and they're 16QAM so will struggle to reach full speed. The power levels look fine and there are no T3 errors so this may be normal for your area, you might just have to wait for VM to do upgrades on your part of the network.

  • 5.52K
  • 70
  • 454
Buffer6
Community elder
735 Views
Message 3 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not hitting 35Mbps upload

Just been talking to a lady in Punjab,(Virginmedia upgrades ) who says you're all telling lies as their service only offers 21 Mbps upload for the 350 vivid package 😅 and said look it up on their site  lol  and argued that you dont get any more 🤣

Prior to that and before the batteries run down on my handset, I got a Scottish lady (Virginmedia upgrades) who decided to talk me out of having any upgrade and said that what I have is fast enough (200 vivid) and more or less indicated that I would ony be waisting my money going for higher speeds. 😃 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.74K
  • 138
  • 386
jpeg1
Trouble shooter
718 Views
Message 4 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not hitting 35Mbps upload

Have you actually be told by VM that you are on 35Mb upload?

I don't see how you will get that with only two 16qam channels.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Bigdazza18
Joining in
708 Views
Message 5 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not hitting 35Mbps upload

My understanding is that all Vivid 350 packages have been bumped up to 35Mbps

The profile on the router shows that my max should be 38Mbps

Max Traffic Rate38500089
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.64K
  • 51
  • 820
CarlTSpeak
Wise owl
698 Views
Message 6 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not hitting 35Mbps upload

Restart the modem. See if you get more upstream channels. Check for T3 timeouts in the logs, and for TCS Partial Service messages if you don't.

You are missing some upstream channels - looking at the channel IDs there should be a 92 at 39400000 Hz and a 94 at 25800000 Hz.

If you have no TCS Partial Service messages the configuration of the equipment you connect to at VM is wrong and is missing some channels in the channel bonding group.

  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Bigdazza18
Joining in
670 Views
Message 7 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not hitting 35Mbps upload

Not further channels have appeared after a reboot.

I can see T3 timeouts in the logs. Is this something I need to contact Virgin about and raise as an issue?

 

Time Priority Description

04/04/2019 10:34:33ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/04/2019 07:33:25ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/04/2019 21:14:5criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/04/2019 17:29:48ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/04/2019 00:25:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/04/2019 07:56:35ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/04/2019 22:23:26ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/04/2019 22:45:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/04/2019 06:56:31ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/04/2019 04:54:42ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/04/2019 20:30:9criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/04/2019 11:40:41ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2019 15:42:22ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/04/2019 06:46:55criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2019 03:02:5ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2019 23:39:1criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/04/2019 00:20:25ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/04/2019 01:45:42ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/04/2019 10:39:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/04/2019 21:42:40Warning!TEK Invalid - Invalid Key Sequence Number;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.64K
  • 51
  • 820
CarlTSpeak
Wise owl
664 Views
Message 8 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not hitting 35Mbps upload

Yes. You should have 4 upstream channels. They might need to restart the line card you're connecting to or reconfigure it.

Good luck with getting that message across to technical support, though...

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Bigdazza18
Joining in
648 Views
Message 9 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not hitting 35Mbps upload

A webchat with VM has not ended well. They want me to run through hardware checks which I cannot do as I am at work, I have also checked all the cables last night.

Is there any way to escalate the issue without going via first line support? It sounds like the issue is not in my house!

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.64K
  • 51
  • 820
CarlTSpeak
Wise owl
621 Views
Message 10 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not hitting 35Mbps upload

Indeed it isn't at your house. First line 'support' doing what they do best: get rid of you as soon as possible and avoid making any progress on faults.

A barely trained monkey could see that the problem isn't in your home. 

0 Kudos
Reply