Menu
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
GZKXBL
Joining in
437 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Not getting the speeds that im paying for

I recently upgraded from vivid 200 to Vivid 350 and my speeds have dropped alot.On vivid 200 I was constantly getting 220mb now I'm only getting 90mb to 120mb.

 

I've phoned customer support and all what they said is that I'm getting the correct speeds what I'm paying for which obviously is not true. It was fine before I upgraded so I don't have a clue what's happened. 

My speeds through Ethernet have also gone down aswell

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.18K
  • 923
  • 2.67K
Superuser
Superuser
409 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting the speeds that im paying for

the only test is a wired test but you say thats also lower - did you upgrade the hub with the speed increase - if so log in and split the wifi channels and turn off smart wifi - that wont help the slow wired speeds so post some figures

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labeled - upstream - downstream

if its an earlier hub button is top right

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
GZKXBL
Joining in
402 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting the speeds that im paying for


@-tony- wrote:

the only test is a wired test but you say thats also lower - did you upgrade the hub with the speed increase - if so log in and split the wifi channels and turn off smart wifi - that wont help the slow wired speeds so post some figures

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labeled - upstream - downstream

if its an earlier hub button is top right

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1250750000-3.740256 qam15
2322750000-3.738256 qam24
3314750000-3.538256 qam23
4306750000-3.540256 qam22
5298750000-3.738256 qam21
6290750000-438256 qam20
7282750000-440256 qam19
8274750000-3.940256 qam18
9266750000-3.740256 qam17
10258750000-438256 qam16
11242750000-3.938256 qam14
12234750000-3.540256 qam13
13226750000-3.538256 qam12
14218750000-3.540256 qam11
15210750000-3.440256 qam10
16202750000-3.240256 qam9
17194750000-340256 qam8
18186750000-340256 qam7
19178750000-340256 qam6
20170750000-340256 qam5
21162750000-340256 qam4
22154750000-3.240256 qam3
23146750000-340256 qam2
24138750000-338256 qam1
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
GZKXBL
Joining in
399 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting the speeds that im paying for


@-tony- wrote:

the only test is a wired test but you say thats also lower - did you upgrade the hub with the speed increase - if so log in and split the wifi channels and turn off smart wifi - that wont help the slow wired speeds so post some figures

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labeled - upstream - downstream

if its an earlier hub button is top right


Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000038.5512064 qam6
24620000038.8512064 qam7
33940000038.8512064 qam8
46030000038.5512064 qam5
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.32K
  • 278
  • 588
Forum Team (Retired) Emma_E
Forum Team (Retired)
302 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting the speeds that im paying for

Hi GZKXBL,

 

 Thanks for getting in touch. I am sorry to see you have had trouble with your connection.

 

I have taken a look and things seem to be ok from this side. If you are still having trouble it may help to try the following so we can rule some things out:

 

Pop the hub into Modem Mode with the computer in Safe Mode with Networking at different times of the day.

 

Try on separate devices.

 

Check Ethernet cable. Make sure it is new / up to date. (Cat 5e or above).

 

Make sure device is capable of agreed speed.

 

Check wireless card slide.

 

Take care.

 

 Emma

 


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
GZKXBL
Joining in
283 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting the speeds that im paying for


@Emma_E wrote:

Hi GZKXBL,

 

 Thanks for getting in touch. I am sorry to see you have had trouble with your connection.

 

I have taken a look and things seem to be ok from this side. If you are still having trouble it may help to try the following so we can rule some things out:

 

Pop the hub into Modem Mode with the computer in Safe Mode with Networking at different times of the day.

 

Try on separate devices.

 

Check Ethernet cable. Make sure it is new / up to date. (Cat 5e or above).

 

Make sure device is capable of agreed speed.

 

Check wireless card slide.

 

Take care.

 

 Emma

 Just did all this and im still getting around 120mb wired and wireless. 


 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.12K
  • 97
  • 278
jpeg1
Problem sorter
254 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting the speeds that im paying for

When you were testing the wired connection, was the WiFi turned off?  It needs to be to get a proper reading

 

  • 10.32K
  • 278
  • 588
Forum Team (Retired) Emma_E
Forum Team (Retired)
170 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting the speeds that im paying for

Hi GZKXBL, 

 

Just a quick update I have popped you a PM. Please take a look and get back to me when you can. 

 

Take care. 

 

Emma


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply