Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not getting advertised upload speeds on 1gig

snozski
Up to speed

I;m been testing abit since I got this installed on Thursday 

See SS : 

dadadaaaa.png

Should I raise a fault for this as I was thinking its meant to be 50mbit + ? 

Thanks

27 REPLIES 27

snozski
Up to speed

This is my upload stream line stats , Im new to cable so not sure what they mean really 🙂

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000043.55120 KSym/sec16QAM3
26030000044.55120 KSym/sec16QAM1
339400000435120 KSym/sec16QAM4
453700000445120 KSym/sec16QAM2

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0010
2US_TYPE_STDMA0010
3US_TYPE_STDMA0000
4US_TYPE_STDMA0000

Andrew-G
Alessandro Volta

Your low upload speeds are due to the modulation dropping down to 16 QAM, and that usually means an upstream noise issue.  VM don't automatically guarantee upstream speeds (although since they advertise them, there's ways of forcing their hand), but since a ropey upstream connection is a major cause of poor reliability that needs fixing.  I've flagged for forum staff to take a look and advise - might be an area fault that's already up for a fix, or if it is unique to your connection then they'll need to book you a technician visit.   

Cheers mate,  I thought so by doing some reading of sticky's the modulation seems to change to 32 or higher late at night but then back down to this in day. 

Be interesting to see what Virgin say,  I obviously want to get speeds I was sold 🙂  It does say the expected upload range 50-54mbit.   

Would this in your opinion be affecting my pings being less stable? 

Andrew-G
Alessandro Volta

@snozski Would this in your opinion be affecting my pings being less stable? 

It could be, but impossible for me to say with any certainty.

Hi @snozski

Thanks for posting on our community forum!