cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie Gig1 Customer Getting Slow Speeds.

randomgeeza
Tuning in

Hi All,

I'm a bit of a noob here with VM, I got Gig1 installed the other day. It was a bit of a struggle getting it set up on my own, but I managed it just about. Since then I have been running some speed tests, as you do. And I have yet to see anything near a Gig. Most times it is in the 500's both wired and wifi. Wifi I can handle but I was expecting something a little, if not, a lot better on wired.

Could any of you knowledgable folk check whatever stats I can provide, to make sure things are as they should be.

I'd hate to throw this away by cooling off, if all it needs is a tweak or two... 

Thanks in advance.

RG

9 REPLIES 9

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Try the wired speed tests like this and it should show the maximum you are getting

Connect a 1GB enabled computer/laptop, with up to date drivers, via a NEW and working Cat5e/6a ethernet cable, directly to the Hub which you have first put into “modem mode” (https://www.virginmedia.com/help/virgin-media-hub-modem-mode ).
This ensures that NO other devices are connected

Test speeds at https://speedtest.samknows.com/ - try on 2 different browsers.

If they are still low – boot your device into windows safe+networking mode to disable any potentially interfering software on there - and try again.

There are many posts on here (I have a list of ~30!) where QoS software, unknown/flaky software, old network card drivers, corrupted browsers, bad cables or other connected devices are limiting speeds on tests.

Report back what that gets.

--------------------
John
--------------------