Menu
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
glenmore3685
Tuning in
504 Views
Message 1 of 26
Flag for a moderator

New Installation, Suboptimal Speeds

Hi All

I'm a new customer looking for some assistance to understand why my speeds aren't as expected.

I had my broadband installed on Saturday. I signed up for Vivid 350. Using speedtest.net and trying modem mode and hardwiring my laptop to the Superhub etc. I can't seem to get anything quicker than 280mbps. Does this suggest I have been setup for 250 rather than 350 in error?

Some stats:

Untitled2.pngUntitled1.pngUntitled.png

Thanks in advance for any help!

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 15.81K
  • 1.65K
  • 3.57K
Superuser
Superuser
458 Views
Message 2 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation, Suboptimal Speeds

The upstream is below the recommended level of 31 dBmV as documented in @Sephiroth ’s excellent sticky at the top of this forum section.

I suggest Virgin Media need to review and confirm this and arrange for a visit to correct this.

You can either phone in to arrange or wait here for Virgin Media to reach your thread which can take around a week at times.

  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
glenmore3685
Tuning in
452 Views
Message 3 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation, Suboptimal Speeds

Thanks Ernie

So does upstream being below the recommended level impact the download speeds or does this just pertain to upload speeds?

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
glenmore3685
Tuning in
428 Views
Message 4 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation, Suboptimal Speeds

OK just to update this thread, spoke to customer support, apparently there is an issue impacting my area that is going to be addressed with an hour (fingers crossed).

Details from the chat with Customer Services:

Vidyasagar
 at 11:11, Feb 4:
I have had a word with our IT expertise and explained the entire issue regarding the speed, upstream and all of the steps we have gone through.
They have checked the system and found that the 'Data Corrupt Error' has caused the speed issue.
 
Vidyasagar
 at 11:12, Feb 4:
They are now aware and the engineer has been scheduled on high priority to work on it.
 

Vidyasagar
 at 11:18, Feb 4:


Thank you for your time, Gareth.

The IT advisor has mentioned, "Slow speeds due to FEC errors on cable. Raised outage and staged work order #16084808."

 

Fingers crossed.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 21.83K
  • 626
  • 3.66K
Sephiroth
Alessandro Volta
392 Views
Message 5 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation, Suboptimal Speeds

Thanks Ernie.

The network log might reveal what was happening. As the stats sit, the downstream is fine. The upstream power is below the generally accepted threshold; if that is a fault with the hub's output, then there wouldn't be sufficient power to successfully push data back to the VM end. The VM bods can see whether or not there are data errors on the upstream.

If the network log show no T3 events but do show T4 events, then the modem is flapping (resetting) and that would most likely be a downstream issue; does that happen?

Upstream issues do affect downstream as ACKs back to a data source may not be going through.

The telephone support person said there were "FEC errors". "FEC" means Forward Error Correction and is conventionally applied to the customer's downstream. Of course your upostream is their downstream, but I don't think offshore support is that smart.

So please let's see the Network Log next. And a full repeat of the power levels.

Seph - ( DEFROCKED - My advice is at your risk)

  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
glenmore3685
Tuning in
383 Views
Message 6 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation, Suboptimal Speeds

Hi Sephiroth

Unfortunately despite being told by the CS agent my issue would be resolved in 30-40 minutes 7 hours ago, it remains the same Smiley Frustrated

So as requested:

Network Log

Time Priority Description

1970-01-01 00:01:27.00Warning!

Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=********;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

1970-01-01 00:01:27.00Warning!MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=********;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-02 16:34:03.00noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
2019-02-02 16:36:36.00ErrorDisruption during SW download - Power Failure
2019-02-02 16:36:40.00noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
2019-02-02 16:40:51.00noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
2019-02-02 20:30:06.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=********;CMTS-MAC=**********;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1970-01-01 00:01:30.00Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=***********;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1970-01-01 00:01:31.00Warning!MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=1*********;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-04 10:55:19.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=********;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
glenmore3685
Tuning in
381 Views
Message 7 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation, Suboptimal Speeds

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12990000003.238256 qam21
2323000000338256 qam24
33150000002.938256 qam23
43070000002.938256 qam22
5291000000338256 qam20
6283000000338256 qam19
72750000002.938256 qam18
8267000000338256 qam17
9259000000338256 qam16
102510000003.238256 qam15
112430000003.438256 qam14
122350000003.738256 qam13
132270000003.738256 qam12
142190000003.938256 qam11
152110000003.738256 qam10
162030000003.938256 qam9
171950000003.938256 qam8
18187000000438256 qam7
191790000003.938256 qam6
201710000003.938256 qam5
21163000000438256 qam4
22155000000438256 qam3
231470000004.538256 qam2
241390000004.538256 qam1



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.670
2Locked38.990
3Locked38.650
4Locked38.670
5Locked38.990
6Locked38.9110
7Locked38.650
8Locked38.960
9Locked38.970
10Locked38.670
11Locked38.640
12Locked38.960
13Locked38.980
14Locked38.940
15Locked38.9120
16Locked38.960
17Locked38.660
18Locked38.6100
19Locked38.6180
20Locked38.980
21Locked38.960
22Locked38.960
23Locked38.660
24Locked38.960

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000030.5512064 qam2
26030000030.8512064 qam1
33940000030.3512064 qam4
44620000030.5512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 21.83K
  • 626
  • 3.66K
Sephiroth
Alessandro Volta
360 Views
Message 8 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation, Suboptimal Speeds

I can't see anything wrong. I would guess that the events on 02-Feb around 16:36 concerned a factory reset you did, hence the software download,

The subsequent events on 04-Feb might have been when you rebooted the hub. The 1970 date occurs when the hub loses its time base, usually at the first moments of a hard reset.

If that's not the case, then what happened at 10:55 this morning or weren't you there?


Seph - ( DEFROCKED - My advice is at your risk)

  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
glenmore3685
Tuning in
362 Views
Message 9 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation, Suboptimal Speeds


@Sephiroth wrote:
I can't see anything wrong. I would guess that the events on 02-Feb around 16:36 concerned a factory reset you did, hence the software download,

This is when the broadband was first installed by the engineer, assume he must have reset it.

If that's not the case, then what happened at 10:55 this morning or weren't you there?

This was when I did another reset which I was requested to do by the Customer service agent when troubleshooting the issue. 



So everything works fine, it mostly gets mid to high 200mbps which would be fine if I wasn't paying for 350! Que the chat to customer services this morning where after about 45mins of going through the standard script to troubleshoot all the things I'd already checked they told me there was a FEC issue affecting my area, that a ticket had been raised and this would not only resolve my speed issue it would also resolve my low(ish) upstream level in 30/40 minutes, needless to say nothing has changed 9 hours on.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 21.83K
  • 626
  • 3.66K
Sephiroth
Alessandro Volta
357 Views
Message 10 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation, Suboptimal Speeds

So, my analysis was essentially correct. There is nothing wrong with the circuit itself. If the upstream power was actually too low, you'd have a whole series of T3s and T4s in the network log.

FEC noise would show in the downstream stats as post-RS (uncorrectable) errors. There are none. The agent was either pulling your plonker or had found upstream noise which we can't see, but I don't think they can either.

The VM bods will get to this thread in about a week and have tools to say what's wrong, if anything and tell you what the ticket reference is.

At least you've got 200+ for the time being.

Seph - ( DEFROCKED - My advice is at your risk)