cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

M500 upload speed is averaging around 1-2Mbps when it should be 36Mbps

namecaps
On our wavelength

Hi All,

I've been enjoying my M500 fibre broadband service for a few months now, and it's been all good, until recently.

I live in the Merley/Wimborne area of Dorset.

I was consistently receiving the advertised speeds of about 500Mbps download, and 36Mbps upload.

Nothing has changed in our home, but about 3 or 4 days ago the upload speed dropped to around 1-2Mbps, plus we're seeing some occasional dropouts (every 15-30 seconds).

namecaps_0-1682944861054.png

source: https://samknows.com/realspeed/

namecaps_1-1682945211570.png

namecaps_2-1682945531471.png

source: https://www.virginmedia.com/support/help/check-services/diagnostics/check

I got on the phone with Virgin Media tech support. We did the whole hub factory reset thing (30+ seconds on the reset button), but this made no difference.

The technician attempted to explain to me about good hub placement (free from obstruction), but I tried to explain back that nothing has changed at this end.

The technician also suggested that I'd be eligible for some free booster devices. But this doesn't make any sense, because if the router itself isn't delivering more than 1-2Mbps, then wifi boosters aren't going to improve on that.

I can only assume that the change is external to our home. I think that's a reasonable assumption?

I'll attempt to re-communicate with Virgin to communicate the above to see if they can investigate further.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

HI @namecaps 

Welcome back to the community 

Really sorry to see you're having service issues. I have taken a look at our systems my side and can see that you power level specifications are out of spec and we'll need to book you and engineer to investigate the issue at the home.