Menu
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
RatmanGB
Joining in
302 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Lots of Post RS errors on one channel?

Hi,

I'm not sure if this is the right forum, but I'm seeing a lot of Post RS errors on just one of the eight downstream channels. I'd be grateful if someone could have a look and let me know if this is normal, and if not, what I should do?

Downstream  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)467000000411000000419000000427000000435000000443000000451000000459000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID81234567
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)1.601.230.971.111.201.401.461.50
RxMER (dB)37.6436.6136.8436.8437.3637.6437.9437.64
Pre RS Errors5853816037163616467700221321591744
Post RS Errors1432321732386613014

 

Upstream  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.02.02.02.0
Channel ID2134
Frequency (Hz)39400000462000003260000025800000
Ranging StatusSuccessSuccessSuccessSuccess
Modulation16QAM16QAM16QAM16QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000512000051200005120000
Mini-Slot Size2222
Power Level (dBmV)39.7539.2539.2539.25
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts3000
T4 Timeouts0000

 

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.38K
  • 598
  • 844
jbrennand
Superstar
298 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Lots of Post RS errors on one channel?

These could be accumulated in a burst over a long period. So switch off the Hub for a few minutes and then restart it and look again, say early tomorrow evening, to see if they are still occurring.

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
RatmanGB
Joining in
296 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of Post RS errors on one channel?

Thanks for replying, I should have mentioned in my original post that I reset the counters at the weekend.

We'd had the SH2 in modem mode for a LONG time, running with a Negear R7000, but we started to have trouble recently so we disconnected the R7000 at the weekend and put the SH2 back in router mode.

Still, I'll give it a try and report back.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.38K
  • 598
  • 844
jbrennand
Superstar
288 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Lots of Post RS errors on one channel?

Blimey - I am no expert but I would say there is a problem somewhere on your connection - possibly "noise".  Hopefully a real expert will confirm that and suggest your best course of action.

"Another thing to check for on this page is the number of post-RS errors. If damaged packets of data arrive at your router, the Reed Solomon algorithm is used to try and repair them. If that's successful, the pre-RS error counter will go up. When it fails, the post-RS error counter will go up. If your post-RS error count keeps going up it's likely a sign of an issue with your connection, so it's worth resetting the counter to 0, then checking periodically to see if the number rises. My connection has been up for about a week and the post-RS error count is 0, which is exactly what you want to see."


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
RatmanGB
Joining in
247 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of Post RS errors on one channel?

OK, I turned the router off for a few minutes at about 1:30am, turned it back on, let it get settled down and then cleared the counters.

Here are the downstream and upstream pages this morning:

Downstream  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)467000000411000000419000000427000000435000000443000000451000000459000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID81234567
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)1.691.160.921.061.241.421.511.59
RxMER (dB)37.3636.8436.8436.8437.3637.9437.9437.94
Pre RS Errors45271746431010291233203195
Post RS Errors19869006132

 

Upstream  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.02.02.02.0
Channel ID2134
Frequency (Hz)39400000462000003260000025800000
Ranging StatusSuccessSuccessSuccessSuccess
Modulation16QAM16QAM16QAM16QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000512000051200005120000
Mini-Slot Size2222
Power Level (dBmV)40.7542.2541.2541.25
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts0000
T4 Timeouts0000

 

Still got a lot of Post RS errors on one channel.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.38K
  • 598
  • 844
jbrennand
Superstar
238 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Lots of Post RS errors on one channel?

Whilst waiting for someone to interpret more accurately, I would call it in as a fault and see what they have to say about the connection

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.14K
  • 1.01K
  • 2.36K
griffin
Alessandro Volta
224 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Lots of Post RS errors on one channel?

It looks like you have a noisy 435mHz channel you will need a tech to trace the noise, unless it is a network error.

How is your connection performing?

A VM Forum team member should pick up the thread in about a week and can take a closer look for you.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
RatmanGB
Joining in
221 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of Post RS errors on one channel?


@jbrennand wrote:
Whilst waiting for someone to interpret more accurately, I would call it in as a fault and see what they have to say about the connection

There's a bit of a problem with calling VM. The account is in my partner's name, so VM won't talk to me without speaking to her first, and she's had a couple of bad experiences with their offshore call centre.

Basically we're trying to get as much information as possible up front to make the call as painless as possible for her.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
RatmanGB
Joining in
186 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of Post RS errors on one channel?


@griffin wrote:

It looks like you have a noisy 435mHz channel you will need a tech to trace the noise, unless it is a network error.

How is your connection performing?

A VM Forum team member should pick up the thread in about a week and can take a closer look for you.


It's been holding up OK when all we're asking it to do is stream Netflix.

Get disconnected when I try to game online, and sometimes holding a stable telnet connection is a bit much for it.

Post RS errors on DS-5 are up to 75.5k now.

0 Kudos
Reply