cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Internet speed

JLH
Joining in

Firstly, I am no computer expert. I switch on and press the keys, click on and "hey presto", until about ten days ago. Now it is dead slow and stop. Even my log in to VM gets timed out and once I gain access to the internet, it takes around 20 seconds to elicit a response. Sometimes I get a message stating that "server is unreachable" or "no server available". As far as I can determine, I have a Hub 3 with a "D" link plugged in to my PC. I have carried out the usual reboots but to no avail. Our mobiles do not seem to affected and it seems to be only the PC. I know that I should contact VM but I am very hard of hearing and listening to a voice on the @phone can be a real trial. Hence my appeal to the community. Can you help me, please? I note that you usually ask for some tests to be carried out but I am not confident or patient enough to attempt this. If anyone has a 1,2,3 solution or possible solution, I should be most grateful to give it a try.

Thank you, J

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Andrew-G
Alessandro Volta

@JLH I note that you usually ask for some tests to be carried out but I am not confident or patient enough to attempt this.

Well, there's always VM's telephone support line, just don't expect too much in terms of either customer satisfaction or a lasting solution.  I had two crowns fitted the other week, and the experience was still genuinely more enjoyable than any telephone encounter I've had with VM.

But, if you'll bear with us, we'll talk you through the sort of tests we need.  

Connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/

That should pull up the log in page for the hub, but don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"