cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Internet speed

Faye-Ben
Joining in

We have the ultimate oomph and have paid for 600mbps. 
we are nowhere near. Most of the time only getting up to around 40!!

today only about 11mbps

what can I do?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

lotharmat
Community elder
Is that on a wireless or wired connection?

------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

8 REPLIES 8

lotharmat
Community elder
Is that on a wireless or wired connection?

Wireless

Try with an ethernet cable to rule out it jus being a wireless problem

Will do. 
min in modem mode. Does that make any difference. Sorry but I’m not good at this

No - that's fine - Just switch out your router for a laptop and see what speed you get!

Reset hub and still only getting about 40mb

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Try it this way...

As you expect >100Mbps then connect a 1GB enabled computer/laptop, with up to date drivers, via a NEW and working Cat5e (or better) ethernet cable, directly to the Hub which you have put into “modem mode” (https://www.virginmedia.com/help/virgin-media-hub-modem-mode ). Test speeds at https://speedtest.samknows.com/ - try on 2 different browsers.

If they are still low – boot you device into windows safe+networking mode to disable any potentially interfering software - and try again.

There are many posts on here where QoS software, unknown/flaky software, old network card drivers, corrupted browsers, bad cables or other connected devices are limiting speeds on tests.

Report back what that gets.

--------------------
John
--------------------