Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
J1MmY9
Tuning in
583 Views
Message 1 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Internet speed

I have internet vivid 350 but speed is only 170. Why?

  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
drifter53
Joining in
564 Views
Message 2 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed

same here pay for 350 get under100 at router

  • 7.36K
  • 765
  • 1.15K
jbrennand
Legend
540 Views
Message 3 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed

If you think that you have a BB speed problem, then to check the speeds coming in to your Hub properly, and whether they match what you should be getting (you cannot rely on wifi tests) you need to do it this way first.

Make sure your device has a gigabit network card and has the up to date drivers. Use a new Cat5e/6a ethernet cable (old ones do "go off") to connect it directly to the Hub - which you have put into modem mode (to ensure only your device is connected). Check speeds like that first - if they are still low - then, boot up your device into "safe mode with networking" (to disable any software on it that could be limiting speeds). Run the tests at speedtest.net (try on x2 VM servers) on 2 different browsers one of which is a fresh download of one you haven’t previously used (e.g. Firefox, Opera, Safari etc - there are several reports on here of certain browsers causing speed issues).

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
J1MmY9
Tuning in
532 Views
Message 4 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed

I check the speed only on the cable. Once the speed is 350, and once 170.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
J1MmY9
Tuning in
475 Views
Message 5 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1298750000-737256 qam21
2138750000-7.937256 qam1
3146750000-737256 qam2
4154750000-6.937256 qam3
5162750000-738256 qam4
6170750000-738256 qam5
7178750000-7.437256 qam6
8186750000-7.237256 qam7
9194750000-7.238256 qam8
10202750000-7.537256 qam9
11210750000-7.437256 qam10
12218750000-7.537256 qam11
13226750000-7.537256 qam12
14234750000-7.537256 qam13
15242750000-7.737256 qam14
16250750000-7.737256 qam15
17258750000-7.937256 qam16
18266750000-7.537256 qam17
19274750000-7.737256 qam18
20282750000-7.537256 qam19
21290750000-7.537256 qam20
22306750000-7.537256 qam22
23314750000-7.737256 qam23
24322750000-7.937256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.6280
2Locked37.64719
3Locked37.6470
4Locked37.6360
5Locked38.6510
6Locked38.6510
7Locked37.6360
8Locked37.6510
9Locked38.6260
10Locked37.6360
11Locked37.3230
12Locked37.6200
13Locked37.3250
14Locked37.3180
15Locked37.6250
16Locked37.3370
17Locked37.6360
18Locked37.6230
19Locked37.6130
20Locked37.3220
21Locked37.6310
22Locked37.6290
23Locked37.6180
24Locked37.3200
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
J1MmY9
Tuning in
473 Views
Message 6 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000004.1512064 qam2
2461999364.1512064 qam1
3257999224512064 qam4
4326000004.05512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 787
  • 34
  • 46
Forum Team
Forum Team
434 Views
Message 7 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed

Good Morning J1Mmy9,

 

Thanks for your post on our Community Forum and a very warm welcome to you.

 

Sorry to see that you've been having speed issues with your broadband service.

 

Following on from jbrennand's post - are you able to confirm that you device has a gigabit network card and has the up to date drivers?

 

Are you also able to confirm what type of Ethernet cable you're using to run the speed tests? Was this speed test also done in Modem mode?

 

David_Bn

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 323
  • 50
  • 128
Superuser
Superuser
428 Views
Message 8 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed

 


@David_Bn wrote:

Good Morning J1Mmy9,

 

Thanks for your post on our Community Forum and a very warm welcome to you.

 

Sorry to see that you've been having speed issues with your broadband service.

 

Following on from jbrennand's post - are you able to confirm that you device has a gigabit network card and has the up to date drivers?

 

Are you also able to confirm what type of Ethernet cable you're using to run the speed tests? Was this speed test also done in Modem mode?

 

David_Bn


Judging by the stats he posted above, the downstream power levels are way too low on all of the channels, upstream looks fine so probably not a cabling fault, he'll probably just need an engineer visit to move his connection tap in the cabinet.

John

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 787
  • 34
  • 46
Forum Team
Forum Team
424 Views
Message 9 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed

Thanks for the reply jem101,

 

I'm happy to look into this for J1MmY9, I was just hoping perhaps an answer from them may shed some further light on it, and it's quite likely these are the type of questions I'd have to ask when trying to diagnose the fault via the assisted flows.

 

J1MmY9,I'll give you a little nudge and drop you a PM! 

 

David_Bn

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
J1MmY9
Tuning in
415 Views
Message 10 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed

Thank you for your response
My motherboard is the MSI Z370 TOMAHAWK

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/Z370-TOMAHAWK.html

Also checked on the SAMSUNG RC720 laptop.

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Samsung-RC720-S01PL.56581.0.html

There is a gigabit card in every one.
I use a 5e category cable.

I have the latest drivers

0 Kudos
Reply