Menu
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
z10m
Joining in
346 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Inconsistent upload.

Hello.

So my virgin media broadband has been connected on tuesday (vivid 350) and when doing speedtest everything seems fine as I'm getting 390/21 but the problem is when uploading big files the speed can jump between 3 and 21mbps. This to me is unacceptable and something I can't live with as I'm streaming games from home at about 10-15mbps. With my previous fibre broadband I was getting constant 17-18mbps at any time of day/night.

And yes this is when connected directly to the hub with ethernet.

currently running it in modem only but tried both options....

So my question is: is that how virgin broadband works.? I can not count on stable upload..?

If thats the case than I will be cancelling since I'm still within the cool off period..

Thanks.

Here are my modem stats which to me look ok apart from 16qam on upstrem for all three channels but thats probably what my area is getting...

 

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
299000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
37600000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1299000000538256 qam21
24030000003.538256 qam28
33950000003.538256 qam27
43870000003.538256 qam26
5379000000438256 qam25
63230000004.638256 qam24
7315000000538256 qam23
8307000000538256 qam22
92910000004.538256 qam20
102830000004.438256 qam19
112750000004.538256 qam18
122670000004.538256 qam17
132590000003.738256 qam16
142510000003.538256 qam15
152430000003.538256 qam14
16235000000438256 qam13
172270000004.138256 qam12
182190000004.438256 qam11
192110000004.838256 qam10
20203000000538256 qam9
211950000005.338256 qam8
221870000005.538256 qam7
231790000005.638256 qam6
241710000005.938256 qam5



Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.68057
2Locked38.96757
3Locked38.68245
4Locked38.914349
5Locked38.915461
6Locked38.66662
7Locked38.67252
8Locked38.97950
9Locked38.97578
10Locked38.617541
11Locked38.917552
12Locked38.613567
13Locked38.69464
14Locked38.69444
15Locked38.622849
16Locked38.910940
17Locked38.617769
18Locked38.99144
19Locked38.611247
20Locked38.611957
21Locked38.98659
22Locked38.912351
23Locked38.613653
24Locked38.99252

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
13760000039.5512016 qam61
22440000038512016 qam63
33100000038.5512016 qam62



Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0040
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0040

 

 
 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.18K
  • 742
  • 3.22K
Superuser
Superuser
343 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Inconsistent upload.

You have some T3 timeouts on the upstream, wait for staff to pick it up and run some tests their side

 


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
z10m
Joining in
331 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Inconsistent upload.

Will do thanks..

Any idea on what can cause that.?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.18K
  • 742
  • 3.22K
Superuser
Superuser
311 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Inconsistent upload.

Could be the HUB is having trouble talking to the CMTS, 3 US channels and 16QAM is unusual for an area they are doing 350 DS

So Im guessing impaired upstream, but we need staff tests their side. A LOT of these issues recently are caused by noise ingress to the RF network which VM aren't helping themselves with.

 


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.42K
  • 227
  • 555
Roger_Gooner
Wise owl
302 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Inconsistent upload.

I'm on VIVID 350. My upstream stats are probably more in line with what you should be getting.

Channel    Frequency (Hz)    Power (dBmV)    Symbol Rate (ksps)    Modulation    Channel ID
1    53700000    4.375    5120    64 qam    10
2    60300000    4.425    5120    64 qam    9
3    46200000    4.325    5120    64 qam    11
4    39400000    4.325    5120    64 qam    12

 

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
  • 3.62K
  • 49
  • 808
CarlTSpeak
Wise owl
280 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Inconsistent upload.

The 3 upstream channels are correct. The area will be due an overbuild to allow for more, higher capacity, upstream channels. 

  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
z10m
Joining in
268 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Inconsistent upload.

Thanks for the info. 

Do we know when that is due for..?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
z10m
Joining in
257 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Inconsistent upload.

This thread can be closed since I have cancelled my virgin media broadband..

0 Kudos
Reply