Menu
Reply
  • 17
  • 0
  • 1
baz2963
Tuning in
214 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Inconsistent 350 speeds

I’ve had 350 for last few days now, first day was great. But now very inconsistent ranging from 60-150-200. 

I’m posting because I’ve tried everything. Checked cable tightness, resets (hard and soft), 5ghz only, modem mode.

can someone please look at my down/up stream and see if any obvious problem are there. Thanks!

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.68K
  • 438
  • 1.17K
Superuser
Superuser
208 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Inconsistent 350 speeds

If you go to http://192.168.0.1/ (or http://192.168.100.1/ if you are in modem mode) to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login (unless this is your first visit to the hub GUI, which does require you to login) but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screenshots if that is easier. Be careful to edit out or obscure any reference to your WAN IP or MAC address in the log to protect your privacy.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread, which can take a few days.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out.
My setup: V6 TV box, Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17
  • 0
  • 1
baz2963
Tuning in
207 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Inconsistent 350 speeds

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1299000000-5.938256 qam21
2139000000-4.440256 qam1
3147000000-538256 qam2
4155000000-638256 qam3
5163000000-538256 qam4
6171000000-4.538256 qam5
7179000000-4.538256 qam6
8187000000-4.238256 qam7
9195000000-4.540256 qam8
10203000000-4.938256 qam9
11211000000-538256 qam10
12219000000-5.238256 qam11
13227000000-5.238256 qam12
14235000000-5.538256 qam13
15243000000-5.738256 qam14
16251000000-5.938256 qam15
17259000000-5.738256 qam16
18267000000-5.938256 qam17
19275000000-5.938256 qam18
20283000000-5.738256 qam19
21291000000-5.738256 qam20
22307000000-5.938256 qam22
23315000000-638256 qam23
24323000000-638256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9681571
2Locked40.3454544
3Locked38.6477455
4Locked38.6376481
5Locked38.9430471
6Locked38.9717423
7Locked38.9464398
8Locked38.9422338
9Locked40.3885338
10Locked38.91109309
11Locked38.6421289
12Locked38.9571285
13Locked38.9388266
14Locked38.9416258
15Locked38.9366276
16Locked38.9371244
17Locked38.9398207
18Locked38.6381208
19Locked38.9403207
20Locked38.6336220
21Locked38.6391188
22Locked38.9371184
23Locked38.9378146
24Locked38.9382145
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17
  • 0
  • 1
baz2963
Tuning in
206 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Inconsistent 350 speeds

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 39400000 4.675 5120 64 qam 26
2 25800000 4.65 5120 64 qam 28
3 32600000 4.65 5120 64 qam 27
4 46200000 4.625 5120 64 qam 25


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.68K
  • 438
  • 1.17K
Superuser
Superuser
198 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Inconsistent 350 speeds

The downstream power levels are right on the recommended lower limit or just above, they should be between -6 and +10.  If they were to fluctuate below -6 on occasion then this could be the reason for your fluctuating speeds.

You will need to get VM to send out a technician to get those downstream power levels adjusted so that they are well inside the recommended range.

You can call VM and try to book a visit or wait for the VM staff to get to this thread and they can help you book a visit, but it will probably take them a few days.

______________________
Scott

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17
  • 0
  • 1
baz2963
Tuning in
194 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Inconsistent 350 speeds

Great thanks .. I don’t mind waiting as long as pick they up this thread 👍🏻

  • 1.79K
  • 53
  • 75
Forum Team
Forum Team
168 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Inconsistent 350 speeds

Hi baz2963,

 

Thank you for your post. I'm sorry to hear about this. 

 

I will private message to get some more details. 

 

^Martin

0 Kudos
Reply