cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Huge Latency and Packet Loss

chickensticks
Joining in

For the last 4 or 5 months I've been suffering from high latency and packet loss, making my connection unusable for things like video calling, which is frustrating given that i work from home. I've tried contacting Virgin who advise me to change my wireless channel because of interference, which doesn't particularly help when I've already explained I'm on a wired ethernet connection.

I'm using a Virgin Hub in modem mode and I'm a software engineer so I've managed to determine that the packet loss and latency issues are happening outside of my network (i.e. within Virgin's).

The problem is now so bad that every few minutes, a ping to 8.8.8.8 results in RTTs of >500ms and ~10-30% packet loss. If I have to deal with Virgin support again, I feel I may just jump out of the window instead as a temporary fix to make me less concerned about broadband speed.

Has anyone on here had similar issues and can advise on a way to speak to someone knowledgeable at Virgin to get it resolved?

Thanks in advance!

1 REPLY 1

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Lets see the connection data before a VM person gets here - can take a few days and will want the same data