Menu
Reply
Joshotek
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
377 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

High latency in RG2

Hi, so since February-March this year we have been getting high latency spikes everyday while gaming etc. This is making playing games like COD or any competitive game impossible to play and enjoy. I live in the RG2 area. I would like if this can be sorted out asap if possible. I pay for gig1 broadband and shouldn’t have to deal with high latency for £62 a month. I’ve been considering changing providers recently and having to settle for lower download speeds just so I don’t have to lag anymore, but I’d prefer to not have to switch if possible. We have tried so many fixes that we’ve been told might work but nothing has worked. Thanks.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
373 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency in RG2

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

 

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Joshotek
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
280 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency in RG2

My BQM 

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

175390000006.40000237.355988QAM25617
104830000006.09999840.366287QAM25610
114910000005.59999838.983261QAM25611
124990000005.40000238.605377QAM25612
135070000005.40000238.983261QAM25613
145150000005.80000337.636276QAM25614
155230000006.19999737.636276QAM25615
165310000006.50000037.355988QAM25616
185470000006.19999737.355988QAM25618
195550000006.00000037.636276QAM25619
205630000005.90000237.355988QAM25620
215710000006.09999837.636276QAM25621
225790000005.69999737.636276QAM25622
235870000005.80000337.636276QAM25623
245950000006.40000237.355988QAM25624
256030000006.69999737.636276QAM25625
266110000006.00000037.355988QAM25626
276190000005.40000237.355988QAM25627
286270000004.69999737.092701QAM25628
296350000004.80000336.844463QAM25629
306430000005.19999736.844463QAM25630
316510000005.09999836.609653QAM25631
326590000005.19999736.609653QAM25632
336670000005.40000236.386890QAM25633
346750000004.80000336.609653QAM25634
356830000003.90000236.609653QAM25635
366910000003.09999835.779911QAM25636
376990000003.29999935.779911QAM25637
387070000004.40000235.779911QAM25638
397150000004.69999735.595078QAM25639
407230000004.50000035.083549QAM25640



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

17Locked000
10Locked285096455700
11Locked136926096000
12Locked72615191700
13Locked294787370700
14Locked294902378700
15Locked86950742100
16Locked150139483100
18Locked150417281000
19Locked111018992200
20Locked116156294300
21Locked132604950400
22Locked133451276400
23Locked94360835900
24Locked183020291310
25Locked199127275700
26Locked199426752300
27Locked155592335800
28Locked188312798300
29Locked200056619300
30Locked200720532000
31Locked192932818200
32Locked229342673300
33Locked242727239600
34Locked243657907100
35Locked201449827600
36Locked218161776500
37Locked250308302700
38Locked250637096500
39Locked210663912300
40Locked113192965110



3.1 Downstream channelsChannel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
159964K1880QAM4096728


3.1 Downstream channelsChannel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
159Locked 3.8766587191517779

 

     

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Joshotek
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
278 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency in RG2

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000037.5205995120 KSym/sec64QAM4
24620000038.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM3
35370000038.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM2
46030000039.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM1



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0090
2US_TYPE_STDMA0090
3US_TYPE_STDMA0090
4US_TYPE_STDMA009

0

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

 

Network log was empty

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
268 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency in RG2

Odd that the Network Log is empty.

Your BQM looks like you have an area utilisation problem.

Did you check the Service Status ?

You might be as well calling in to see what they say.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Joshotek
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
260 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency in RG2

Yeah the service status says everything is fine in my area. Is there anything that can be done about the area utilisation problem then? 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
253 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency in RG2

You will need to check with VM to see what they say.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Joshotek
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
130 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency in RG2

Can I get someone from virgin media in here? It has gotten way worse and I can no longer play online games at all etc. I really need to get this sorted out as this is ridiculous now. Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
128 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency in RG2


@MikeRobbo wrote:

Odd that the Network Log is empty.

Your BQM looks like you have an area utilisation problem.

Did you check the Service Status ?

You might be as well calling in to see what they say.


That was 3 weeks ago, have you bothered ?


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply