cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with smart devices please

Raynor17
Joining in

Hi there, 

I had residential 200mb installed last weekend. Although I can see on the speed test I am getting around 200, it keeps going slow when watching videos etc. I spoke to customer service who explained that I have too many devices connected to the 2.4 part. I have quite a few smart bulbs/plugs. 
As I work from home my local rep has upgraded me to business 350mb broadband now.
I’m just wondering when I install this is there something I need to do to even out what’s connected to what? If that makes sense? 

12 REPLIES 12

legacy1
Alessandro Volta
You need to get a better wireless router with 1Gb ports and put the hub in modem mode.

---------------------------------------------------------------

They are supplying a new router with the business plan. Apparently it’s what’s used in shops? Would this suffice or not?

excuse my ignorance, I’m by no means a pro. But what happens when put in modem mode? I was told I needed to split the 2.4 and 5; but I never did. They automatically connected to whatever they needed.

Adduxi
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

The business Router is a Hitron, and is more difficult to manage than the standard Hub 3/4.  At least with a business account you get an SLA for fault repairs.

Seems odd VM would sell you a business account just to manage smart devices.  Personally I'd have bought a better SoHo Router and stuck the Hub in modem mode.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

He just said it would be faster and not drop out? I have no idea really but it’s £3 cheaper a month for more speed so I’m not too bothered. I suppose il just have to wait and see if it’s any better once that’s installed

Adduxi
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

@Raynor17 wrote: