Menu
Reply
quintelligence
  • 13
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
838 Views
Message 1 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Getting through to a human regarding slow uploads

Hi,

My download speed is as advertised, but upload speed is about half what it should be, even when wired. Have done various resets etc. but speed still the same.

Would like to speak to someone, or exchange an email or have a web-chat, but it seems almost impossible to do so. When I tried the phone number I went through a number of options before I was just told to powercycle the router and the call was dropped.

How do I get to raise the issue with someone at Virgin?

Steve

jbrennand
  • 32.1K
  • 3.16K
  • 6.1K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
803 Views
Message 2 of 22
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Getting through to a human regarding slow uploads

You will get best advice and help from the folks on here.

Or wait a few days and a VM person will respond here and probably ask you to do what we would ask first 🙂

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
quintelligence
  • 13
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
796 Views
Message 3 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting through to a human regarding slow uploads

Hi John,

Thank you for your response. I'm not sure that there is much left to be done this end - I only use the Virgin router in modem mode which then links to a different router, which then has three dedicated wireless access points around the house hard wired to the router (I got very fed up of bad wifi some time ago). Peer to peer speed tests on the network are very fast.

Connecting to the Internet though, I'm consistently getting 100 Mbps download (as paid for) but only around 5 Mbps upload. I read up and saw that uploads were throttled to give more bandwidth for downloads - which kinda makes sense - so I was not too worried about it after discovering that.

In the past week though, I found that on the 100 Mbps service the upload speed is supposed to be a guaranteed 10 Mbps. I would like to know how to report that this isn't the case and I am consistently 5 Mbps slower.

Many thanks for your help.

Steve

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32.1K
  • 3.16K
  • 6.1K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
763 Views
Message 4 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting through to a human regarding slow uploads

OK post up the Hub data as per this..,
________________________________

In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1  (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before unless you have the New Hub4 when you do] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle or top/right of the first page up and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again.

Also, in the meantime... If you haven’t already, set up a free, secure and “offlsite” - “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
jbrennand
  • 32.1K
  • 3.16K
  • 6.1K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
728 Views
Message 5 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting through to a human regarding slow uploads

Also check in the Hub's "Configuration File/data" page.

Look for the Upstream data page and for the box saying summat like "Max Data Transfer Rate" - it should start with a 1........ (its in bps - not mbps) if its 5....... then the Hub has not been configured for the higehr upload speeds. They upgrades sometimes dont go through - it would be worth a pinhole reset of the Hub if its an the 5...

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
quintelligence
  • 13
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
701 Views
Message 6 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting through to a human regarding slow uploads

Hi John,

Many thanks for taking the time to respond again. The Think Broadband site looks useful, and I now have a monitor "maturing".

The hub settings do not look like you describe, it may be that I'm on an older version of the hub?

SuperHub.png

Three of the buttons do nothing and the one remaining one only has the option to come out of modem mode, which I don't want to do.

Could a pinhole reset of this router be useful? If done, will it come back on in modem mode and working correctly or is there more that might need to be configured afterwards?

Thanks,

Steve

TB links:

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32.1K
  • 3.16K
  • 6.1K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
692 Views
Message 7 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting through to a human regarding slow uploads

Ahhh you have the old SH. You have "signed in" - dont do that.

Sign out refresh the page and it should show "router status"  click on that

Your BQM is a wall of red.  The i.p. address in the BQM settings may not be correct - search for your ip address and check it - or the router is set to not accepting ICMP requests"  i.e. "pings" - you will need to tick the allow box in your own Routers settings

Router status.png


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32.1K
  • 3.16K
  • 6.1K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
680 Views
Message 8 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting through to a human regarding slow uploads

Does the label on its base say Superhub or Superhub 2 or 2ac?

You should get VM to upgrade you if its a SH1.

You are in modem mode - so what make model of router are you using - that may be the issue.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
quintelligence
  • 13
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
661 Views
Message 9 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting through to a human regarding slow uploads

Hi John,

Thanks, I am in. Re-reading your original description I see I should have done that in the first place.

Requested information:

Information

Cable ModemEuroDOCSIS
Serial Numberxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Boot Code Version2.3.0beta7
Software VersionV2.39.02
Hardware Version2.00
CA Key

Installed

 

Downstream  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8491000000 Hz 475000000 Hz 483000000 Hz 499000000 Hz 507000000 Hz 515000000 Hz 523000000 Hz 531000000 HzLocked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked11 9 10 12 13 14 15 16QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM2566.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000I=12J=17 I=12J=17 I=12J=17 I=12J=17 I=12J=17 I=12J=17 I=12J=17 I=12J=173.1 dBmV 2.9 dBmV 2.8 dBmV 2.8 dBmV 2.9 dBmV 2.6 dBmV 2.7 dBmV 2.3 dBmV41.3 dB 41.4 dB 41.3 dB 41.3 dB 41.3 dB 41.4 dB 41.4 dB 40.9 dB

Frequency (Hz)
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)
Channel ID
Modulation
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)
Interleave Depth
Power Level (dBmV)
RxMER (dB)

 

Upstream  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-42.0 2.0 2.0 2.03 1 2 446200000 Hz 60300000 Hz 53700000 Hz 39400000 HzSuccess Success Success SuccessQAM64 QAM64 QAM64 QAM645120000 5120000 5120000 512000064 64 64 6435.3 dBmV 35.0 dBmV 35.5 dBmV 35.0 dBmV0 0 0 00 0 0 00 0 0 00 0 0 0

Channel Type
Channel ID
Frequency (Hz)
Ranging Status
Modulation
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)
Mini-Slot Size
Power Level (dBmV)
T1 Timeouts
T2 Timeouts
T3 Timeouts
T4 Timeouts
Channel Type
Channel ID
Frequency (Hz)
Ranging Status
Modulation
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)
Mini-Slot Size
Power Level (dBmV)
T1 Timeouts
T2 Timeouts
T3 Timeouts
T4 Timeouts

 

Upstream Burst  Req(1) Init Maint(3) Per Maint(4) Adv Short(9) Adv Long(10) Adv UGS(11)16QAM QPSK 16QAM 64QAM 64QAM 16QAMOff Off Off Off Off Off36 384 384 64 64 64396 6 6 396 396 3960 5 5 7 14 516 34 34 88 220 860 0 0 3 0 5522 48 48 22 22 22Fixed Fixed Fixed Short Short ShortOn On On On On On

Modulation Type
Differential Encoding
Preamble Length
Preamble Value Offset
FEC Error Correction (T)
FEC Codeword Information Bytes (K)
Maximum Burst Size
Guard Time Size
Last Codeword Length
Scrambler On/Off
Modulation Type
Differential Encoding
Preamble Length
Preamble Value Offset
FEC Error Correction (T)
FEC Codeword Information Bytes (K)
Maximum Burst Size
Guard Time Size
Last Codeword Length
Scrambler On/Off

 

General Configuration

Network AccessAllowed
Maximum Number of CPEs1
Baseline PrivacyEnabled
DOCSIS ModeEU DOCSIS 3.0
Config File 

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID14648
Max Traffic Rate115000000 bps
Max Traffic Burst10000 bytes
Min Traffic Rate0 bps

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID14647
Max Traffic Rate10500047 bps
Max Traffic Burst16320 bytes
Min Traffic Rate0 bps
Max Concatenated Burst16320 bps
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network Log

First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
 05/08/2021 22:24:51  05/08/2021 22:24:51  Error (4)  68010300  DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 
 05/08/2021 17:54:25  05/08/2021 17:54:25  Critical (3)  2436694078  TOD established 
 10/07/2021 06:23:34  10/07/2021 06:23:34  Critical (3)  82000400  Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 

 

Also included the limiting settings, and it looks like this is correctly set to 10 Mbps?

Suspect the router is blocking pings. Will take a look at removing that if required later on.

Would still be good to talk to a human at VM...

Cheers,

Steve

 

0 Kudos
Reply
quintelligence
  • 13
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
675 Views
Message 10 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting through to a human regarding slow uploads

No sticker on the base, but on the back it says Superhub.

The router is a Netgear Nighthawk R7000P, which I would hope is not causing a problem.

Regarding a hardware upgrade, I guess that comes back to getting to the point of being able to talk to someone at VM?

Many thanks,

Steve

0 Kudos
Reply