Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 29
  • 0
  • 0
biggineagle
Tuning in
503 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Getting 20% of my 100Mb

Last 4 days been getting speeds of

31.7

25.9

22.63 (ping 357)

21.99 Ping 248

From my hub

Downstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12987500004.138256 qam21
24267500005.840256 qam28
34187500005.140256 qam27
44107500005.640256 qam26
54027500005.140256 qam25
63227500004.538256 qam24
73147500004.440256 qam23
8306750000438256 qam22
92907500003.938256 qam20
102827500003.538256 qam19
112747500003.438256 qam18
12266750000340256 qam17
132587500003.240256 qam16
142507500002.940256 qam15
152427500003.238256 qam14
162347500002.740256 qam13
172267500003.238256 qam12
18218750000337256 qam11
192107500003.537256 qam10
20202750000338256 qam9
211947500003.438256 qam8
22186750000338256 qam7
231787500002.238256 qam6
24170750000137256 qam5



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.910230
2Locked40.3400
3Locked40.9540
4Locked40.3290
5Locked40.9440
6Locked38.97000
7Locked40.36410
8Locked38.97950
9Locked38.916120
10Locked38.616580
11Locked38.928220
12Locked40.321630
13Locked40.321840
14Locked40.332210
15Locked38.940899
16Locked40.346640
17Locked38.663030
18Locked37.385380
19Locked37.3105700
20Locked38.91126614
21Locked38.915850992
22Locked38.618263771
23Locked38.9271832308
24Locked37.6321861714

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13580000049.3512064 qam2
25370000047.8512016 qam4
32740000049.3512016 qam3
44580000047.8512016 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Hope this is of use to someone

 

Steve

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 29
  • 0
  • 0
biggineagle
Tuning in
446 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting 20% of my 100Mb

ught I would add the network log as well. Note latest reports are at the bottom.

Time Priority Description

2019-01-21 06:26:17.00noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-23 07:03:51.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-25 08:54:52.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-25 19:07:27.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-25 22:20:35.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-26 11:46:21.00ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-26 11:46:21.00noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-26 21:29:57.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-27 09:52:05.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-27 18:07:51.00criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-27 18:07:51.00criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-27 19:24:44.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-30 02:51:17.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-31 02:36:20.00ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-31 02:36:20.00noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-31 08:34:33.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-01 08:01:48.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-01 10:32:25.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-04 03:39:26.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-04 08:07:26.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

1Your broadband connection is working.
2Gateway IPv4 address is valid.
3The device has low signal strength, please move it closer to android-f41316ea7d3e47c8.
4The device has low signal strength, please move it closer to Martin-PC.
5Please place your WiFi device near the Hub 3.0.
6Your broadband connection is down.
7The temperature of your Hub 3.0 is normal.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.26K
  • 851
  • 1.3K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
428 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting 20% of my 100Mb

Others more qualified will comment on the stats. But, If you think that you have a BB speed problem, then to check the speeds coming in to your Hub properly, and whether they match what you should be getting, you cannot rely on wifi tests, you need to do this first.
Make sure your device has a gigabit network card and has the up to date drivers. Use a new Cat5e/6a ethernet cable to connect it to the Hub - which you have put into modem mode (to ensure only your device is connected). Then, boot up your device into "safe mode" (to disable any software on it that could be limiting speeds) and run the test at speedtest.net on 2 different browsers one of which is a fresh download of one you haven’t previously used (e.g. Firefox, Opera, etc).

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 29
  • 0
  • 0
biggineagle
Tuning in
410 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting 20% of my 100Mb

Hi J, Ta for your reply, I was testing via cat 5 and not wifi. My card is not 1 gig but 100M, the driver is up to date. Under Modem and safe mode I only managed 32 and 21. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.26K
  • 851
  • 1.3K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
401 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting 20% of my 100Mb

Mmm.. I think I would swap the network card for a new gigabit one - they are relatively cheap. Also if the 5e is "old" a new 6a cable would do no harm. Just for your info... here are a few recent reasons that people suffered slow speeds...
Dell speed problem
https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Download-speeds/td-p/3894056
Chrome speed problem
https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Etherent-speed-slow/m-p/3912102#M202773
Turbo LAN App problem
https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Slow-speed/td-p/3896582
Windows re-install
https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Achieve-Full-Speed-In-Safe-Mode-Only/td-p/3...
Old Network Card driver
https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Vivid-350-just-installed-but-relatively-low-speed-connect...


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 29
  • 0
  • 0
biggineagle
Tuning in
381 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting 20% of my 100Mb

So Virgin Media not interested in my posts / stats. Typical I spose.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.26K
  • 851
  • 1.3K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
369 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting 20% of my 100Mb


@biggineagle wrote:

So Virgin Media not interested in my posts / stats. Typical I spose.


This is not a "hotline" to VM staff - it is a "Community Help Forum" - where technically minded customers try to help each other.  If you want "instant" responses from VM, then your options are the phone or the chat line ! 

A VM person will respond to this thread in due course, but it can take up to a week or so for them to get to it.  As they work from the oldest first, dont bump the thread as it will drop it to the bottom of their list.


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 29
  • 0
  • 0
biggineagle
Tuning in
330 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting 20% of my 100Mb

Ha VM have messaged me asking how they did with this problem, I would post my reply to them but there may be children about.

Thanks Virgin.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.86K
  • 975
  • 2.95K
Superuser
Superuser
329 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting 20% of my 100Mb

you say cat5 cable and 10/100 network card - both should be ok up to 100 - the implication in your posts is that things have changed and that you did get 100 wired -is that correct - if so its fair to assume the cable and card are ok

have you tried a test in modem mode with a pc in safe mode

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.75K
  • 98
  • 323
Adduxi
Super solver
323 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Getting 20% of my 100Mb

DS Channels 20 -24 should have no Post RS errors, this could be  noise on the circuit.  Also 3 US channels are using 16QAM, which again could be noise as the other US is on 64QAM . 

As for the 10/100 NIC it might only get 90 mb at best, so I would recommend you change to a 10/100/1000 card. 

0 Kudos
Reply