Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
ddoyle2000
Tuning in
437 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Frequent high packet loss, 10% packet loss

I keep getting frequent high packet loss that slows or drops my internet connection, I use wired connections, so that rules out wifi, also no packet loss pinging the hub, so my network is not the issue.

Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
Packets: Sent = 1000, Received = 896, Lost = 104 (10% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 19ms, Maximum = 60ms, Average = 22ms

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 907
  • 126
  • 195
DJ_Shadow1966
Well-informed
422 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent high packet loss, 10% packet loss

Hello

Pings are a low priority on the internet so sometimes get packet lose

Can you please post your network stats from the hub.

Open a Web browser (e.g. Internet Explorer) and enter the address http://192.168.0.1

Note: If you have enabled Modem Mode on your Hub 3.0 you will need to use 192.168.100.1 instead.

Do not login but click on where it says "Check Router Stats" and then copy and post from the following 4 tabs, Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network logs and we can check your power level, also while you about that can you please go around and check that all connectors to VM equipment are hand tight.

Regards Mike

I dont work for VirginMedia all opinions are my own.
39 years in IT.
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
ddoyle2000
Tuning in
385 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent high packet loss, 10% packet loss

Hi DJ_Shadow1966

Thank you for your quick reply.

It's no coincidence that when I see a high packet loss my internet connection is very slow and streaming such as Netflix, youtube etc start to buffer and webpages take a long time to load or sometimes even timeout.

I don't know if the logs will show anything at the moment as the ping loss is now zero (reading was taken for one thousand pings for accuracy) and everything seems fine and fast again (for the moment). But the high packet loss and slow internet happens almost everyday for several hours.

Another thing is if I reboot my router it takes about 1 hour to re-establish a new connection. And it resets my admin and wifi password to the defaults. Its a 3.0 Hub, Area 26.

 
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
ddoyle2000
Tuning in
384 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent high packet loss, 10% packet loss

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1459000000-0.437256 qam32
22350000001.438256 qam13
32430000001.738256 qam14
4251000000138256 qam15
52590000001.538256 qam16
62670000001.737256 qam17
72750000001.237256 qam18
82830000001.938256 qam19
92910000001.538256 qam20
102990000001.537256 qam21
113070000001.737256 qam22
12315000000137256 qam23
133230000001.538256 qam24
14411000000-0.237256 qam26
15419000000035256 qam27
164270000000.235256 qam28
17435000000-0.438256 qam29
18443000000038256 qam30
19451000000-0.538256 qam31
20467000000-0.238256 qam33
21475000000-0.729256 qam34



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.623931
2Locked38.615631781
3Locked38.91661764
4Locked38.611681407
5Locked38.9458221561
6Locked37.6319631377
7Locked37.357071294
8Locked38.61314684
9Locked38.91222869
10Locked37.377675
11Locked37.61839112
12Locked37.32180151
13Locked38.92482601
14Locked37.658886
15Locked35123880
16Locked35.5145864
17Locked38.626553082
18Locked38.672827
19Locked38.643335
20Locked38.611741
21Locked29.7144783979173001

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1603000005.1512064 qam6
2393999615.1512064 qam9
3461999905.1512064 qam8
4537001315.1512064 qam7



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
Vee7a9a364ea87600.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID33212
Max Traffic Rate172500000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID33211
Max Traffic Rate10500000
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
ddoyle2000
Tuning in
383 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent high packet loss, 10% packet loss

Network Log

Time Priority Description

16/10/2019 06:14:6criticalRegistration RSP rejected message syntax error;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:14:6criticalRegistration RSP rejected unspecified reason;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:14:6ErrorT6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:14:6criticalREG RSP not received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:14:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:15:13criticalRegistration RSP rejected message syntax error;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:15:13criticalRegistration RSP rejected unspecified reason;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:15:13ErrorT6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:15:13criticalREG RSP not received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:15:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:16:5criticalRegistration RSP rejected message syntax error;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:16:5criticalRegistration RSP rejected unspecified reason;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:16:5ErrorT6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:16:5criticalREG RSP not received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:16:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:17:13Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:38:42Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:39:3Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:42:45Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2019 06:42:47Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 907
  • 126
  • 195
DJ_Shadow1966
Well-informed
318 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Frequent high packet loss, 10% packet loss

Hello

I have just looked at you power levels and there is some issues on the Upstream the power levels are showing as maxed out at 51.0 the figures reported by the hub are in fact out by a fact of 10, so shows 5.1 makes it 51. Noise can come from yourself or anywhere else on the network that is connected to the same circuit as you in the green box.

Potentially there is noise on the line as also show a high number of Post RS Errors, I would go round and check that all the connections to all the equipment and hand tight, that there are no severe kinks or bends in the cable and no damage. When checking the cables also check for any un-terminated splitters etc.

You are going to need and engineer to look at this, if after checking the connections the upstream Power Level dbmV is less that 5.1 (in real fact 51.0 as the device will have problems connecting to the VM below 23), I would like to see that 5.1 to drop between 2.3 - 5.0

This post https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/POWER-LEVELS-amp-SNR-A-TECHNICAL-PRIMER-upd... give all the information regarding power levels.

Regards Mike

 

I dont work for VirginMedia all opinions are my own.
39 years in IT.
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
ddoyle2000
Tuning in
312 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent high packet loss, 10% packet loss

Thanks for the help Mike, I'll be sure to check the connections, I don't think anything in my network has changed since the time the connection was stable, so probably an external issue or the hub if it's not lose connections.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 907
  • 126
  • 195
DJ_Shadow1966
Well-informed
309 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent high packet loss, 10% packet loss

Hello

Your welcome, I dont work for VM but have been in IT for the last 39 years, self taught into mid-late 20's, worked all over, love what I do.

Mike

I dont work for VirginMedia all opinions are my own.
39 years in IT.
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
ddoyle2000
Tuning in
289 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent high packet loss, 10% packet loss

Great to have someone here with those years of experience. I've been working in IT for 21 years, mainly web development but also have some knowledge of LAN networking and building computers. However, wouldn't know where to start with WAN/MAN networks. I work from home, so having a good internet connection is important.

Any idea why SH3 loses settings when powering off/on, guessing its a bug.

David
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 907
  • 126
  • 195
DJ_Shadow1966
Well-informed
258 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent high packet loss, 10% packet loss

Hello David

First time I have seen this could be a faulty hub and this could also be why you getting noise, will have to wait for a VM staff member to pick this up. Yeah I do webdesign and pretty everything computer base my room is a PC mine field currently 4 Machines.

Mike

I dont work for VirginMedia all opinions are my own.
39 years in IT.
0 Kudos
Reply